Summer's Reign (Seasons of Fortitude Book 2)Summer’s Reign by Elizabeth Rose


Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Seasons of Fortutude, #2

Source: Personal buy


  • Publication date: July 6, 2017
  • Publisher: RoseScribe Media Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071VP35MS
  • Length: 296 pages


(Courses of Amazon)


Product Description

Book 2

At a young age, Summer has sacrificed herself for the sake of her family by marrying the evil and abusive Baron Mowbray of Suffolk. A few years after birthing him a son, the baron mysteriously dies, leaving her toddler heir to his estate. The king grants Summer one month to find and marry a man of her choice. But Summer would never consider marrying any relative of her late husband, especially not his domineering nephew.

Sir Warren Mowbray returns from battle to find his uncle has died and with him went the man’s promise that Warren would inherit his holdings. Now, to add insult to injury, the king has assigned him as the widow’s guardian and advisor while she chooses a husband. Once he arrives at the castle, he discovers Summer is a beautiful, smart, determined woman but with a mind of her own. He plans to woo her, but she wants nothing to do with him. He also has his suspicions that the hated baron might have been murdered – and Summer is the main suspect.

Can a strong, determined woman and a controlling warrior find love between them or will they destroy each other first?

Watch for Autumn’s Touch – Book 3, and Winter’s Flame – Book 4 coming soon! And if you haven’t already read it, be sure to read Highland Spring – Book 1 as well!

From the Author

Watch for the entire Seasons of Fortitude Series coming soon.

Highland Spring – Book 1 
Summer’s Reign – Book 2 
Autumn’s Touch – Book 3 – (Preorder now)
Winter’s Flame – Book 4 – (soon)
Also be sure to read the Legendary Bastards of the Crown Series:
Destiny’s Kiss – Prequel
Restless Sea Lord – Book 1
Ruthless Knight – Book 2
Reckless Highlander – Book 3



Pick up your copy today for only 99 cents! AUTUMN’S TOUCH is on pre-order for only 99 pennies, as well!!


My thoughts:

Summer’s Reign by Elizabeth Rose is a wonderful Historical Romance. While, #2
in her amazinf “Seasons of Fortitude” series, it can be read as a stand along. See, book 1, “Highland Spring”.

Summer has sacrificed herself for the sake of her family when she marries the evil and abusive Baron Mowbray of Suffolk. She has a small son, finally, has had several miscarriages, a stillborn and still her evil husband, is not satisfied. After the last stillborn, he’s furious, so he plans to kill her, but he mysteriously dies instead. Of course, Summer is under suspicion. …enter her family to help, the “Bastards of the Crown” triplets and a young Knight to her rescue.

Sir Warren Mowbray, her late husband’s nephrew, when he’s called from battle by the King, he finds his uncle has died and with him went the man’s promise that Warren would inherit his holdings. The King gives Summer thirty days to find a new husband, or he will choose her for her. Love or duty! At first, she doesn’t trust nor like Warren, aka War, but as their love blossoms so as does the mystery of Summer’s late husband. He was more evil then she even knew.

Well written, with enjoyable characters, who will capture her heart. Summer suffered so much for her family, more than they were even aware. The story flowed seemingly and was well executed, in my humble opinion. The plot was interesting and intriguing, with a bit of mystery, some twists and turns, passion and finding a HEA. I so wanted Summer to find her HEA.

Once again, Elizabeth Rose, has brought her readers an intense story, were it begins tragically, but comes full circle by the end. I was surprised to learn what truly happened to Summer’s husband and why. “Summer’s Reign” will capture your heart as you watch her grow and find her HEA. Another great read by one of my favorite Historical Romance authors. I can hardly wait for “Autumns’ Touch”, coming soon. Fantastic read, beautifully written and masterfully executed! Well done, Ms. Rose!!

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

For your reading pleasure, here’s a list of the “Seasons of Fortitude” titles.

“Highland Spring – Book 1
Summer’s Reign – Book 2
Autumn’s Touch – Book 3 – (Preorder now)
Winter’s Flame – Book 4 – (soon)