Unbreakable Heart (Legend of the King's Guard Book 2)Unbreakable Heart by Kara Griffin

Genre: Historical Romance (Medieval)

Series: Legend of the King’s Guard #2

Source: I received a complimentary copy.

  • Publication date: February 28, 2017
  • Publisher: CreateSpace
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06WLJ2NGV
  • Length: 272 pages

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

After losing the love of his life, Liam of Clan Kincaid is sent in service for what his uncle considers betrayal. Liam gives himself to the battle wearied king, Robert the Bruce, and vows to mend his tarnished reputation. That would be easy if not for the lass who insists he aids her.

Makenna Mackenzie has lived through hell. Her home and land taken by the English. All she wants to do is seek vengeance on the man who cut off her ear and destroyed everything dear in her heart. The only way to achieve her goal is to plead with the legendary king’s guard. She wants them to train her to be a mercenary like they so she can use her sword to the fullest when she finally meets her enemy.

Liam finds himself in a quandary because Makenna is not the sweet lass he deems her to be. But his UNBREAKABLE HEART can withstand her, can’t it?

Available at Amazon! Pick up your copy today! 

My Thoughts:

Unbreakable Heart (Legend of the King’s Guard Book 2) by Kari Griffin is such an intriguing tale of love and passion. While, Book 2 in “Legends of the King’s Guard”, it can be read as a stand alone. See, “Conquered Heart”.
Well written, fast paced, adventure filled with engaging, with well-developed and intriguing characters. The characterization and vivid descriptions will have the reader in awe.

This is the story of Liam of Clan Kincaid and Makenna Mackenzie. Liam is one of Robert the Bruce’s legendary “Legend of the King’s Guard”. Makenna has been though a nigtmare, she seen her entire family and clan killed by a group of English soldiers. Her younger sister was also, raped and brutalized, by the commanding officer, known as, Hawk. Makenna thought her sister dead. Out for vengeance, MacKenna, meets with the legendary guard, Liam, who happens to be her long time absence betrothed. She needs Liam to teach her how to use a sword, to kill her enemy. So they make a pack, she would marry him and he would train her to weld a sword.
Liam needs Makenna in order to have his father’s lands returned to him. Liam and his friends live in a cave, in hiding due to a misundstanding with Robert the Bruce, now King, which could get them all hanged for treason.

Together, can Liam and Makenna find their HEA or loss all to the need for revenge? I enjoyed watching Liam and Makenna become friends, lovers and soul mates. Liam would do anything to protect Makenna including death. Can she and Liam’s friends save him, before it’s too late?
Secrets, second chances, danger, passion, friendship, love and romance brings “Unbreakable Heart”, to an awesome climax. I absolutely loved Liam and Makenna’s story. It was compelling, powerful and enticing. I enjoyed how they each came to terms with their past, their heartache and find their way to a possible future of love and happiness.
Ms. Griffin, has written with emotion, the visualizations so real the reader feel Makenna’s horror, her desire for vengeance, and smell the Highland atmosphere. What an impressive Scottish Romance! A must read for fans of Highland Warriors, Scottish romance, Medieval romance, delicate situations, and great reads. Highly recommended! I can’t wait to read the next “Legend of the King’s Guards” book. This series is such an adventure, I was held spellbound and could not put this title down. Read it in one reading. Masterful and brilliantly written!!
I received a complimentary copy.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

Advertisements