Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar Book 1)Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance by Kate Connors

Genre: Historical Romance (Montana)

Serie: Brides of Cinnabar #1

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: February 21, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06WWDQWQF
  • Length: 170 pages

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Description

Mal McElhoes’ spur-of-the-moment purchase of a sheep herd might not have been his smartest decision. The ranch in rough and tumble Cinnabar, Montana, on the outskirts of Yellowstone Park, is more work than he can manage, especially with good-for-nothing ranch hands. And he’s even losing those, thanks to the new railroad coming through. He needs more help and companionship than his loyal, whip-smart collie can offer. What he really needs is a wife.

Ashley Sullivan’s prospects in New Hampshire are bleak. Her family’s fallen on hard times. She does what she can to help out, but she doesn’t want to be a burden on them. Besides, she’s holding a few secrets in her heart: she’d like to run her own boarding house someday, she’d like a grand adventure, and, just maybe, she could fall in love. So when an offer to be a mail order bride to a sheep rancher in Montana comes up, she leaps at the chance.

Construction on the National Pacific Railroad nearby brings new opportunities for Mal and Ashley. But it also brings new dangers. When his sheep start disappearing, mail ordering a bride might turn out to be the smartest decision Mal ever made…

 

**Available for 99 cents! Pick up your copy today! !**

MY THOUGHTS :

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar Book 1) by Kate Connors is a sweet, heartwarming tale of life, and challenges on the Western frontier. Definitely, promises to be an interesting and intriguing series! Set in Cinnabar, Montana, which is on the outskirts of Yellowstone Park. A debut author, and what a debut!

Mal McElhoes purchases a sheep herd on the spur-of-the-moment, which may not have been such as great an idea, as he first thought. He keeps losing his ranch hands and his herd due to the railway coming through. His companion, is a smart, savvy and loyal, border collie, named, Cindy.
Ashley Sullivan’s from Portsmouth, New Hampshire where her prospects are bleak, especially, with her family fallen on hard times. A secret she as held within within her heart….she would like to run her own boarding house one day. What’s a girl to do, when she wishes not to be a burden to her family….become a mail order sheep rancher’s bride, of course. She is business savvy, smart, can run the buckhouse, and her organizational skills are great. She is also looking for a grand adventure of her own. So when she is offered this mail order bride position she accepts without a second thought.
Trouble and danger is on the horizon for this young, newly married couple…
Ashley and Mal run into a few difficulties along the way, someone is running off their sheep, the construction on the National Pacific Railroad nearby brings new opportunities but also brings problems, as danger lurks, they could lose everything. They have to work together to save their ranch, face danger head on, and learn to accept each other’s strengths and weaknesses.

Steady paced, well written tale with many emotions and a unique mail order bride read, I don’t think I’ve read a story where the ranch involves sheep not cattle, which made it even more interesting, to me. The characters were entertaining, strong-willed, determined, likeable and realistic. The cast of characters were a great contrast of troublesome, witty and strong characters, which definitely added to the appeal of “Ashley”. There were some laugh-out-moments.
Kate Connors is a debut author, and I thoroughly enjoyed her charactization, her detail to history, her writing style and her ability to draw me into the story and hold me glued to the pages, as I read Mal and Ashley’s story. Definitely an author to watch for in the future! A page turner, with grit, substance and clean romance. A heartwarming and uplifting story of life’s challenges, struggles, hope, triumphs, trials, and the thrill of finding acceptance, love and sweet romance. An absolute great read! This story leads the reader into the next grand adventure of the “Brides of Cinnabar” series, which I can’t wait to read!

Pick up “Ashley”, for your next Western Historical Romance read. Strongly recommended for fans of Sweet, Clean romance, Western Historical romance with a few twists, a bit of mystery, suspense, and HEA. Great job, Kate Connors! !

Rating: 4
Heat rating: Sweet/Clean
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

Advertisements