The Scoundrel's Honor (Sinful Brides, #2)The Scoundrel’s Honor by Christi Caldwell

Genre: Historical Romance  (Regency)

Series: Sinful Brides #2

Source: I received a complimentary copy.

  • Publication date: February 14, 2017
  • Publisher: Montlake Romance
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01KZOA5BE
  • Length: 354 pages

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

London, 1822.

Thanks to her older siblings, Lady Penelope Tidemore is no stranger to scandal. In order for her to make a good match, her secret longings for intrigue and romance must be quelled. Yet it is through terrible mischance that Penelope is caught in a compromising position—however innocent—with the darkly enigmatic viscount Ryker Black.

Mr. Black is no gentleman. Raised from the streets and proprietor of the most notorious gaming hell in London, Black lives in a world filled with debauchery and danger. Taking a Society wife from the very ton he despises is not part of his plan, even if the innocent Penelope turns his blood hot with desire.

But Penelope isn’t afraid of Mr. Black, and she soon discovers that his reputation as a scoundrel may be designed to hide a surprising vulnerability. As this unlikely husband and wife grow closer, they learn that what started as chance could end up sealing their fates.

 

 

 

For the latest information about Christi’s releases, future books, and free bonus material, you can sign up for her newsletter at http://www.christicaldwell.com

Available for pre-order, now! Reserve your copy today. Releases February 14, 2017 from Montlake Romance. 

 

 

 

 

MY THOUGHTS 

The Scoundrel’s Honor by Christi Caldwell is another example of writing from the heart. Set in 1822 London. While, Book 2 in her mesmerizing series, “Sinful Brides”, it can easily be read as a stand alone. See, “The Rogue’s Wager”. If you have read Ms. Caldwell’s intriguing stories before, you will probably remember Lady Penelope Tidemore and Ryker Black, as appearing characters.

Lady Penelope Tidemore is in no way a stranger to scandal. Her older siblings caused such a scandal, her family’s good name was mudged. She longs for adventure, romance and passion for herself, as well. The enigmatic but darkly Viscount Ryker Black, is a very dangerous man, he owns a gambling hell and does not enjoy, in fact, he despises the nick picking society, he was raised from the streets of London, afterall. He lives in a world filled with danger and debauchery. Therefore, does not desire a society miss to marry, until he meets the enchanting Lady Penelope who makes him burn with desire. When, Penelope is caught in a compromising postion, due to no fault of her own, will Ryker take responsibility and marry Penelope? Even through she is his sister’s new friend, will he leave Penelope to face the gossip, whispers and innuendoes alone? Can Ryker and Penelope find their HEA as danger lurks?

Fast paced, emotionally charged, intriguing, suspenseful, with mystery, and adventure. Christi Caldwell has a way with her stories that draws readers in and holds them spellbound throughout. I love her details to a story, her charactizations in my opinion are right on, the detail to the era is enlightened and the reader can tell she researches her topics to give the reader a more realistic view of the era, characters, their challenges and the storyline. The depth of her stories are heart stirring, powerful, as well as, captivating and seductively intriguing. Please, don’t get me wrong she in no way writes explicit scenes nor scenes that may embarrass the reader in anyway. Or to me, at least. Readers will find a read where ladies were treated as property and gentlemen their owners. But will Ryker be able to protect his cherished, and enchanting Penelope from the dangers his choice of living may cause? And society gossip?

Fans of Regency Romance, Historical Romance with complications, challenges, a bit of violence, ton scandal, intrigue and passionate characters, “The Scoundrel’s Honor” is a perfect read for you to start reading.

Ms. Caldwell is one of my favorite Regency Romance authors. She is such a dedicated author to her readers, her fans, and family, she simply is a powerful and compelling author of Regency Romance. “The Scoundrel’s Honor” is a not to miss Regency, it will capture your heart and hold you in awe! Well done again, Cthristi Caldwell!
Simply compelling and powerful!
I received a complimentary copy.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

Advertisements