Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

Month

June 2016

Kiss Me That Way by Laura Trentham…..a review

KMTW  Kiss Me That Way by Laura Trentham

Published May 31st 2016 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
ISBN
125007763X (ISBN13: 9781250077639)

 

 

 

 

 

Summary from Goodreads:

A river divides Cottonbloom in two: the upscale enclave on the Mississippi side and the rundown, rough and tumble side in Louisiana. They’re worlds apart—but nothing can build a bridge like love…

Cade Fournette never had it easy Cottonbloom. He stuck around long enough to raise his orphaned siblings and then hightailed it out West—and never looked back. Even though he’s made a success of himself in Seattle, Cade never lost the toughness and the angry edge that helped him survive down South. His only weak spot: the girl he left behind…

Monroe Kirby came from the wealthy side of town, but that didn’t protect her from her mother’s drinking—or her mother’s boyfriend. It was Cade who did that, on a long-ago hot September night, before he disappeared…along with a piece of her heart. Now Monroe is a physical therapist who can fight for herself, and it’s Cade who could use some conditioning when he makes an unexpected return back home. Will he and Monroe pick up where they left off and finally explore their mutual passion—or will the scars and secrets of the past divide them once more?

My Thoughts:

Wow! This is one of those reads that leaves you eager for more. I am sooo happy that I was able to complete the series, but at the same time I’m sad to say I’ve read the 3 books. I want more!
KISS ME THAT WAY is a wonderful beginning. The storyline is engaging and fast-paced, the characters are realistic and pull you into their lives. The setting is one I’d love to visit! It may be fictional but it doesn’t feel that way. KISS ME THAT WAY is a second chance at love kinda story, I say kinda because they really weren’t “in love” the first time around but it still fits that type of story. Cade and Monroe were part of each other’s lives but too young to be “in love” or at least Cade thought Monroe was too young. I loved watching these two reconnect, watching Cade come to terms with his past and recapture the family he had. I also really liked how the author give Monroe a chance to face her demons and to overcome them. Overall this was one of those stories that you really hate to leave. I wanted to visit with Cade and Monroe and the rest of CottonBloom some more. I loved the town. I want to see a map! I want to visit! Fans of small town contemporary romances will find this one to be perfect. I highly recommend KISS ME THAT WAY to all! You’ll be so glad you read this one. Be warned once you find your way to Cottonbloom you aren’t going to want to leave! So glad these books are being released so close together. So don’t worry once you read KISS ME THAT WAY you won’t have to wait long for the next two stories.

Reviewed by WendyK
Rating: 5

Heat Rating: Hot (but on the milder side)

View all my reviews

Advertisements

COURAGEOUS HEART by Anna Markland…Review

Courageous Heart (The Von Wolfenberg Dynasty #2)Courageous Heart by Anna Markland

ANNA MARKLAND
Website
Twitter

You can find her at her website and her Facebook page, Anna Markland Novels.
Tweet @annamarkland, join on Pinterest, or sign up for her newsletter.

Genre: Historical Romance(German)

Series: The Von Wolfenberg Dynasty series #2

Source: Received for an an honest review from Net Gallery.

  • Print Length: 211 pages
  • Publisher: BleuBelle Press (June 22, 2016)
  • Publication Date: June 22, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01G0SBSZG

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Lute von Wolfenberg is the carefree middle son of the family with no responsibilities, but no prospects either. Obliged to fight in the army of the Holy Roman Emperor in a foreign war, he struggles to hold on to his sense of humor and optimism amid the betrayals and atrocities of the campaign. He finds himself drawn to Francesca di Cammarata, niece of the Emperor’s arch enemy, Roger of Sicily.
She is an arrogant princess brought up in the lap of luxury whose duty lies in thwarting the imperial troops, but she cannot deny her feelings for Lute.
The conflict will test their loyalty to country and family.

My rating: 

 

Courageous Heart by Anne Markland is #2 in her intriguing “The Von Wolfenberg Dynasty” series, it can be read as a stand alone. See, “Loyal Heart”. A mixture of authentic historical details interwoven with fictional characters makes an intriguing and interesting romantic tale. The Von Wolfenberg saga continues with Luke Von Wolfenberg, the middle son of the family. He’s the care free, no responsibilities nor any prospects, until he goes off to war between the Silician and Germans. In a foreign land, he meets the sensuous, Francesca di Cammarata, niece of Roger of Sicily, the Emperor’s arch enemy. Who has many secrets and deceit she perpetuates upon Luke and his fellow soldiers. Will Luke be able to forgive her or will their passion be able to bring healing and forgiveness? Will they found their HEA, or lose all to country, tragedy, family and a worn torn country?

After Luke, his older brother, his brother-in-law and with Francesca i tow, head home, they find tragedy, along with two joyous arrivals and upcoming nuptials. While, the Von Wolfenberg’s world is rocked to their very foundation, they must find a way to carry on their Dynasty.

A well written, but complex Romantic tale with many challenges, struggles, twists and turns, and humans emotions, readers will find themselves caught up in this tidal wave of emotions. Another great addition to “The Von Wolfenberg Dynasty” series. Fans of German and Silican conflict, Historical Fiction, mixed with romance, intrigue, and a bit of suspense, will enjoy Luke and Francesca’s story. Pick up a copy for yourself, and find out the fuss.
Received for an honest review from Net Gallery.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild hot, due to mild violence
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

A DANGEROUS DAMSEL by Kimberly Bell…Review

A Dangerous Damsel (The Countess Scandals #2)A Dangerous Damsel by Kimberly Bell

KIMBERLY BELL
Website

Twitter

Genre: Historical Romance(Scottish)

Series: The Countess Scandal #2

Source: Received for an honest review from Net Gallery.

  • Publisher: InterMix (July 19, 2016)
  • Publication Date: July 19, 2016
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0177AGPQ8

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

In eighteenth century Scotland, a born seductress meets her match in the second Countess Scandals novel from the author of A Convenient Engagement.

Deidre Morgan survives on her allure, quick hands, and quicker wits. But when her brother Tristan’s gambling addiction gets him in too deep with the crime lord—and Deidre’s former lover—Alistair, Deidre needs to come up with the money. Fast.

Rich and handsome, Ewan Dalreoch seems to be the perfect mark. Deidre plans to seduce him, take his money, and leave him behind. But Ewan isn’t like the other men she’s known—and he refuses to be shaken off.

Yet when Alastair comes after his debt, Deidre and Ewan both get more trouble than they bargained for—and perhaps a love worth fighting for.

Includes a preview of the next book in the Countess Scandals series

Praise for A Convenient Engagement

“A charming, hilarious, and engaging read, and best of all, full of handsome Highlanders!”—New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Ashley

My rating: 

A Dangerous Damsel by Kimberly Bell is a very entertaining Scottish Historical Romance. #2 in “The Countess Scandals”, but can be read as a stand alone.
Well written with well developed, charming characters and a well thought-out, a bit complex but very intriguing storyline. With witty banter, danger, mystery, suspense, passion, trust, and romance, the characters bring to life the complexities of survival and finding love during times of hardship, pain and sled sacrifice. A few truths are revealed as well as a bit of clarity in one’s situation. Fast paced and action packed, with some twists and turns. “A Dangerous Damsel”, is a book to cherish, and a bit unique.
I enjoyed how Deirdre Morgan and Ewan Dalreoch, the new Earl of MacMurdo, come to be so much more than a passionate interlude, but find love, healing, forgiveness and acceptance. The secondary characters are absolutely a delight, especially, Ewan’s dear friend, protector and Godfather, Angus, and the Deirdre’s younger brother Tristan.
Ms. Bell has put together a wickedly delightful cast of characters, ones who are not to be trifled with, apparently. A must read! Fans of Highlanders, Historical Romance, adventurous entertaining and passionate embraces, will enjoy this story. Be warned: Hot, sexy love scenes are present between the hot sexy Highlander and the damsel in distress. Wickedly delicious Scottish Historical Romance!
Received for an honest review from Net Gallery.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Hot/Sensual
Reviewed by: AprilR

Check out this review of Saddle Up (Hot Cowboy Nights #4)

Here is a review by April: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1662049067

SADDLE UP by  Victoria Vane. ..a review

**Please visit Victoria Vane on her website, Facebook page and Twitter **

Check out this review of Highlander’s Rescue A Cree & Dawn Short Story (Cree & Dawn Short Stories Book 4)

Here is a review by April: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1659728546

Highlander’s Rescue A Cree & Dawn Short Story (Cree & Dawn Short Stories Book 4) by Donna Fletcher. ..a review

***Please visit Donna Fletcher on her website,  Facebook page or Twitter ***

A masterfully written Scottish tale!!

Check out this review of Honor Bound: A Highland Adventure

Here is a review by April: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1659750383

HONOR BOUND br Laura Strictland. ..a review

**Please visit the author’s website for more information on this exciting Scottish Medieval Romance ***Or visit  Wild Rose Press **

Check out this review of Taming Thad (Tarnished Saints Series Book 12)

Here is a review by April: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1656362574

HAPPY RELEASE DAY,  ELIZABETH ROSE!

Taming Thad by Elizabeth Rose. ..a review!

*Please visit the author’s website for more information on this exciting series *

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑