AvelynnAvelynn by Marissa Campbell

http://www.marissacampbell.com/

http://www.twitter.com/marissa_author

Genre: Dark Ages/Viking/British & Irish/Historical Fiction with Paranormal elements

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin (September 8, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1250084989
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250084989

(Courtesy of Amazon)

This dazzling debut brings the Dark Ages to light and illuminates one Saxon noblewoman’s romance with a Viking warrior and her struggle to find her path in a changing and dangerous world

869. For eighteen years, Avelynn, the beautiful and secretly pagan daughter of the Ealdorman of Somerset, has lived in an environment of love, acceptance, and equality. Somerset has flourished under twenty years of peace. But with whispers of war threatening their security, Avelynn’s father makes an uncompromising decision that changes her life forever.

Forced into a betrothal with Demas, a man who only covets her wealth and status, Avelynn’s perception of independence is shattered. With marriage looming, she turns to her faith, searching for answers in an ancient ritual along the coast, only to find Alrik The Blood-Axe and sixty Viking berserkers have landed.

In a year of uncertainty that sees Avelynn discover hidden powers, stumble into a passionate love affair with Alrik, and lead men into battle, Avelynn must walk a fine line as her deceptions mount and Demas’ tactics to possess her become more desperate and increasingly brutal.

Avelynn and Alrik are caught in the throes of fate as they struggle to find the way back to themselves and onwards to each other.

MY THOUGHTS

Set in 869 Dark Ages with paranormal elements. A Saxon Lady,Avelynn, turned Warrior and a Viking, Alrik, a tale that transcends worlds, kingdoms and the ages. Fast paced, action packed. Written in first person, through Avelynn’s perception or voice.
Well written with depth, and vivid descriptions. Not for the of faint heart.
There is much tragedy, challenges, romance, sadness, passion, betrayal, deceit, druids,secrets,death, myths and the power of love. There are so many deceptions and lies in Avelynn’s life, it’s hard to tell whose friend or foe. Then there’s Avelynn’s ittle brother, Edward, who is in danger as well. She would do anything to protect him. Then there is her devious betrothed, Demas.
Avelyn proves to be a true warrior. Her Viking, Alrik, proves to be strong and determined to save Avelynn, even at the cost of banishment.
I love the way Avelynn withstood everything thrown at her,all she lost, her courage, her bravery to do what she preserved right and she still managed to survive to become even stronger and more determined to save her people. But she never lost sight of love.
My only regret, so many questions left unanswered. I see another book in the making. Fans of Paranormal, Druids, ancient times, Viking invasion, Saxons, romance and finding love will enjoy “Avelynn”. There is so much to this amazing story. Not just another Historical Romance. I was amazed and left aghast at all Avelynn endured, and managed not to be bitter. A must read and a definite keeper.
Readers….you will need tissues. This is not only a tear jerker, but a passionate tale of survival and love. The romance between a Saxon She-Warrior and a Viking Warrior who find their fate and their destiny is astounding to say the least. An enjoyable and satisfying read! Highly recommended for fans of strong heroines, who show everyone she can and WILL survive. What an amazing tale! Be warned…this is a very intense, compelling and powerful story!!
Can’t wait to see what Ms. Campbell has in store for her fans next.

*Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery*

**Cross-posted on My Book Addiction Reviews dot com**

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Hot
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Advertisements