The Iron Princess (Sons of the North, #2)The Iron Princess by Sandra Lake

http://www.sandralakeromance.com/

Genre: Historical Romance (Scandinavian)

Series: Sons of the North #2

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Print Length: 252 pages
  • Publisher: InterMix (June 16, 2015)
  • Publication Date: June 16, 2015
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00JV124Q2

(Courtesy of Amazon)

A Sons of the North Romance novel from Sandra Lake, author of The Warlord’s Wife, who takes readers to 12th-century Scandinavia where two hearts clash in furious passion…

The daughter of a Northern warlord, Katia is known as the Iron Princess for her mettle in battle. Headstrong and defiant, she instigates sword duels on a whim with little regard for her own safety. Katia would rather die on her feet as a warrior than live as a token wife and child bearer for a husband who keeps her castled as if she were a prisoner.

Lothair is the illegitimate son of the Duke of Saxony, who was granted the title of baron, a castle and lands. Raised in an atmosphere of mistrust and deceit, he rejects the concept of husbandry and wants a life of purpose and sacrifice in the pursuit of security for the Baltic Sea.

And when fate brings the Iron Princess and reluctant baron together, Katia and Lothair discover they are kindred spirits with fiery temperaments—and insatiable desires—to match…   

INCLUDES A PREVIEW OF THE WARLORD’S WIFE

Praise for The Warlord’s Wife

“With compelling characters and a clever plot, The Warlord’s Wife will appeal to readers obsessed with TV’s Vikings, and who miss the classic Viking romances of Catherine Coulter or Johanna Lindsey.”—Heroes and Heartbreakers
 
“Lake’s debut historical romance is sure to appeal to those who enjoy spirited heroines, grumpy alpha heroes, and a slow sweet journey to everlasting love.”—Smexy Books

“Man, this was a fun book! … I cut my teeth on Johanna Lindsey, and this book reminded me so much of those experiences.”—Dear Author


Sandra Lake is the author of The Warlord’s Wife. She was raised in rural Canada and married her childhood sweetheart (who, like the heroes of her novels, is blond and on occasion shirtless). They are currently living happily-ever-after along with their musical sons and unruly husky.

MY THOUGHTS

A “Sons of the North Romance” novel, #2, but can be read as a stand alone. See, “The Warlord’s Wife”. A continuing family saga set against the backdrop of 12th-century Scandinavia. Two hearts clash in passion and so much more.

The heroine, Katia, is impulsive, strong-willed and runs head long into trouble time and again, without thinking things though. The hero, Lothair, is the illegitimate son of the Duke of Saxony, whose looking for a place of his own, not a wife. What he falls into is, he and his friends, are continuously having to save Katie from herself and their foe.
A fast paced, adventure filled story, with passion, danger, and wickedness. The story has some political intrigue, sword fighting, betrayal, mistrust, passion, romance, and learning to love. The author weaves political intrigue in nicely with a story of a female wielding swordsman, the trouble she gets herself and her friend into, as well as a tale of love and sacrifice.
Well written with intrigue and romance. I enjoyed the secondary characters as well, they added to the storyline, greatly. There were a few tear jerking moments as well. I look forward to the next installment. Fans of Historical Romance, and Scandinavian intrigue are sure to enjoy, ” The Iron Princess”. An enjoyable and satisfying read!

*Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery*

**Cross-posted on My Book Addiction Reviews*

Rating: 4
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Advertisements