Cover Art





Genre: Historical Fiction (Western Canada/Women Pioneers)

Series: When Calls the Heart

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher.


  • Series: When Calls the Heart
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (February 4, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764212311
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764212314



Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected. . .

Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she’d feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don’t even speak English. There isn’t even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth’s heart is torn between two young men–both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?

A special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart Tv series.

Where to Purchase

And other fine retailers!


Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is an engaging inspirational Historical Fiction/Western Canada/Women Pioneers set in Western Canada during the early 20th century.

*A special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s WHEN CALLS THE HEART T. V. Series*

A mother-daughter team that can only be described as a powerhouse of talent!

WHERE COURAGE CALLS is tells more of the famous Thatcher family story and what a story!

Meet, schoolteacher, Beth Thatcher, who is sent to Coal  Valley, on her first teaching assignment. What she finds is grief,deplorable conditions, locals who don’t speak English, and no proper schoolhouse. Coming from a life of luxury, Beth will have to decide her fate, stay in this backward, rustic frontier, or go back to her pampered life, leaving her lifelong dream behind.

Along comes two Mounties, one a long time friend, Edward Montclair, the other a quiet man who comes to help her more than once, Jarrick,aka Jack Thornton. Which will steal her heart?

With engaging characters and vivid descriptions you will not go wrong with WHERE COURAGE CALLS. It was rather fascinating to watch Ms. Thatcher come to her own. With romance in the air,the faith to survive, and the knowledge to go farther, this book will capture your heart as you watch these characters come to life. I enjoy the T. V. version and enjoyed this tale of a rustic frontier, and the families who live there. A compelling and well thought out tale. I hope there will be another coming soon, as we are left with a bit of a cliff hanger at the end, will Beth return to Coal Valley and continue to her new found relationships? Or continue her pampered life in Toronto?

Beth is patient, kind, wise at times, giving,strives to help others, and loves the children of Coal Valley. A must read and a true treasure to any library. Received for an honest review

*Coming in April 2014 from Bethany House , a division of Baker Publishing Group*



REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More