Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

RECALIBRATE: Six Secrets to Resetting Your Age

RECALIBRATE: Six Secrets to Resetting Your Age

Author: Richard Purvis

Website: https://www.richardpurvisauthor.com/

Paperback: 222 pages

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Publication Date: Jan. 11 2018

Language: English

ISBN-10: 197844169X

ISBN-13: 978-1978441699

Genre: Health and Fitness

Description (from Amazon)

RECALIBRATE – Six Secrets to Resetting You Age will reform the way you eat, think, live, and AGE! Author Richard Purvis developed a program to help restore optimal health and vigor to your life and actually preserve youthfulness! With more than 30 years of dedicated nutritional experience combined with the latest scientific research, Purvis details how resetting your health and youthful appearance is unequivocally obtainable utilizing six proven methods. In RECALIBRATE Purvis examines the causes of premature aging and the catalysts for diseases such as; diabetes, obesity, hypertension, cancer, heart disease, arthritis, and even Alzheimer’s. He highlights what we are doing to ourselves to trigger the onset of many illnesses, and what we are not doing to prevent them. Purvis demonstrates pragmatic, sustainable principals, lifestyle changes, and nutritional insights to maximize your body’s biological processes and slow or even reverse aging! The RECALIBRATE plan takes years off — leaving a more youthful and radiant appearance, improving energy levels, boosting overall health, and resisting disease. Purvis introduces measures you can take right now to enhance your ability to live life on your terms. Practicing good health provides the best opportunity to avoid the potential of self-induced disease, and dramatically improves the quality of life. A few short weeks of following the RECALIBRATE program will help you look and feel better than you have in a decade. Committing to the lifestyle and proven techniques will facilitate a radiant appearance and superior overall health – for LIFE!

My Thoughts

Recalibrate was not what I expected. To me I actually thought it would have been about a program of some sorts. I was disappointed when I started reading it for several reasons. The biggest thing was that it was written almost with a scientific background in mind. There were lots of “big” words that a lay person would have to either look up or skim through and not read. Let me preface this with the fact that I have a medical background and work in research so for me I did understand. However, a reader who would be looking to change their lifestyle, might not understand and it would definitely detract from the reading. The other thing was that it really isn’t “new” information that readers can’t find elsewhere. There was really nothing that stood out for me.  However, having said all that, the exercises provided detail instructions along with pictures that showed how to complete which was a good thing.

Rating: 2

Review: KellyR

Advertisements

CIVIL TERROR by J. Luke Bennecke

CIVIL TERROR (Book 1)

Author: J. Luke Bennecke

Website: http://www.jlukebennecke.com/

Publisher: Jaytech

Publisher Date: March 6, 2018

ISBN-10: 0965771520

ISBN-13: 978-0965771528

Genre: Mystery

DESCRIPTION (from Amazon)

Self-driving vehicles finally arrive. But so do the terrorists. A thought-provoking thriller about artificial intelligence and the self-driving revolution. You’ll be forced to consider how you’d react if you were cornered and trapped in a terrifying life-threatening situation.

Fed up with slogging through the treacherous LA traffic to get to work, Jake Bendel and a cunning team of experts create a roadway system for self-driving cars — preventing thousands of traffic deaths and reducing commute times from hours to minutes.

For three months, no traffic congestion. No accidents. No fatalities. People finally feel safe in their cars. But should they? Especially when the dark side of humanity sees this as a chance to destroy the United States.

A Syrian terrorist group weaponizes the system and devises a scheme to kill more Americans in one day than the 407,000 + U.S. soldiers killed in World War II.

Viktor, a tormented psychopath and the mastermind behind this ruthless attack, is driven by the voices of his dead mother and Allah …who guide his every move.

While he and his brothers mercilessly annihilate Americans in the name of the Jihad, Viktor plants evidence that convinces the public Jake is the architect behind the most heinous terrorist attack in U.S. history.

But one rogue FBI agent believes Jake is innocent. Together they unearth a mole deep inside the FBI, go off the grid, and hash through a trail of hidden clues to stop Viktor from slaughtering millions of unsuspecting American drivers in a matter of minutes.

The clock is ticking. Can they stop him in time to prevent another savage bloodbath?

MY THOUGHTS

CIVIL TERROR is an interesting thriller all about self driving cars and the systems that run them. Jake has created a system that is computer based and will eliminate traffic. however the one thing that they never thought of is a mole and hacker getting into the system and reeking havoc on the world. In today’s society and all the terrorism that is happening, it is not too far from the truth that something like this could happen.

This is a fast paced thriller will lots of action and great character development. It is very well written and definitely believable. There were however parts of the story that seemed to drag on and that interfered with my enjoyment of it. I do like how he ends the story and it really isn’t something that the reader will expect. Overall, it is a good read and I think readers will enjoy it.

Reviewed by: KellyR

Rating: 3

 

FATAL OPTION by Chris Beakey

Fatal Option by [Beakey, Chris]Fatal Option

Author: Chris Beakey

Website: http://www.chrisbeakey.com/

Publisher: Post Hill Press

Published: February 2017

Genre: Suspense

ASIN: B01MU5F5KQ

Description (from Amazon)

A tragic accident. A family in crisis. And a killer watching every move.

Five months after the mysterious death of his wife, Stephen Porter is pulled from a dreamless sleep by a midnight phone call. His 17-year-old daughter Sara is stranded in a blizzard near the top of a mountain beyond their suburban home. She’s terrified and unable to stop crying as she begs him to come to her rescue.

Unfortunately Stephen went to bed just an hour before after a night of binge drinking. With his blurred vision and unsteady balance he knows it’s dangerously irresponsible to get behind the wheel. But he heads out into the snowstorm to bring Sara home.

High school teacher Kieran O’Shea is also behind the wheel, searching for his autistic younger brother Aidan, who is wandering aimlessly through the storm on that same mountain. Kieran is terrified—of the voices in his mind, that Aidan will be taken from him, and that he may soon be arrested for murdering three women.

In a matter of minutes Stephen will encounter Kieran and drive headlong into a collision that will force him to unlock the secret of his wife’s death, avoid prosecution, and protect his children from violence that hits all too close to home.

My Thoughts

Fatal Option was all about the trails and tribulations a family goes through under tragic circumstances. It brings to light the question of what would you do under the same circumstances. How far would you go for your family?

There were plenty of twists and turns to keep the readers attention blending in at the right times to make all the connections. This definitely kept you guessing right until the end.

For me however, it was slow to start and I found myself putting it down. If I would have stayed with it, it would have grabbed my attention after the first few chapters. Once I got there, about Chapter 20, I couldn’t put it down. Having said that, it was definitely well written with great character development. My rating reflects the fact that it did eventually grab my attention and kept it right until the end.

Reviewed by: KellyR

Rating: 4

Highland Retribution (The Band of Cousins) by Keira Montclair….review

15293416427761271392560972630494

  • Publication date: June 12, 2018
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07DPRY6VR

Description

They stole everything from her, including her dignity. With his help, she’ll get it back.

Braden Grant is haunted by the death of his friend Ronan, who took his own life. No one knows why the warrior resorted to such desperate measures, but Braden blames himself. He won’t feel settled until he’s atoned for failing to save his friend, and when he meets Cairstine Muir, he wonders if he’s finally found his chance. Held against her will by the very man who killed her family, the lass is a prisoner in her own keep. Her beauty and quiet strength call to him as much as her situation urges him to fight.

Though life has taught her harsh lessons, Cairstine still has an ember of hope in her heart. She longs to escape her captors and exact vengeance on them, but nothing is more important to her than her wee son’s safety. Though she failed to save her family, she pledges she will always save him, come what may. When a strong, handsome defender steps into her life, promising to help her exact vengeance on her captors, she sees the opportunity she’s waited for…but is the possibility of a new life worth the risk to her son?

 

My thoughts 

Highland Retribution (The Band of Cousins Book 3) by Keira Montclair is an intriguing Medieval Scottish Romance set against a Scottish backdrop. While, #3 it can be read as a stand alone.

Fast paced, magnificently crafted, with a wonderful and charming cast of characters. The storyline is unpredictable, intriguing, compelling, adventurous and suspenseful with dark secrets and kidnapped young bairns who are sold for profit. The chemistry between Braden Grant and Cairstine Muir is romantic, and magical. Cairstine is such a strong character. She has been though so much in her young life. She was kidnapped, abused, watched her entire clan murdered, held captive for years but still has a ember of hope, someone will help her and her young son…. Enter Braden, who is brawn, has a temper, handsome and will become her protector and avenger, but can she trust him with the life of her young son? Cairstine’s young son helps to carry this story along, he is brawn and determined to help his mother. I so enjoyed this little man, his determination is magnificent. Follow this amazing couple on their journey of discovery, hope, love, and a HEA.
Ms. Montclair has once again written an emotionally charged, high impact tale that will draw the reader in from the first page to the last and then it lingers in your thoughts long after the last page. I can’t wait to read the next installment of (The Band of Cousins ” series. Brilliantly written and excuted! Well done, Ms. Montclair!!

Rating: 5

Heat rating: mild 

Reviewer: AprilR 

Leopard Rescue by Sara Starbuck~~~a review

leopard-rescue-3

Leopard Rescue
by Sara Starbuck

  • Age Range: 8 – 11 years
  • Grade Level: 2 – 6
  • Series: Born Free…Books
  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Barron’s Educational Series (April 1, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1438009887
  • ISBN-13: 978-1438009889

 

Keep wildlife in the wild! Support the Born Free charity and join Virginia McKenna and her team behind the scenes of a real life leopard rescue.

Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the true story of one of their incredible rescues . . .

Meet brave Leda, a dedicated mother leopard, and her shy twin daughters, Rhea and Roxanni. These are the Limassol leopards, a family who grew up behind bars in a cramped city zoo in Cyprus, far from their natural homeland. This is the inspiring true story of their rescue, a journey that led these remarkable creatures from hardship to hope, and to the eventual sanctuary of Born Free’s South African wildlife reserve.

Filled throughout with full-colour photographs and fascinating facts about how leopards live in the wild, this is an ideal book for young animal lovers.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed reading this book, as an animal lover this book was really good to read. These animals were treated unfairly and cruelly; but these animals were rescued and put in a better habitat. I would suggest this book if you want to learn about these animals or if you want to learn about how they were rescued and nursed back to life.

Reviewed by: jewelrymaker12

Rating: 5

No Heat rating as this is a children’s book

Afterburn by Amy Knupp~~~~a review

Afterburn (Island Fire Book 5)Afterburn by Amy Knupp

Island Fire Book 5

Publication Date: March 13, 2018

ASIN: B078ZL7LHS

 

Blurb from Amazon

Scott Pataki became an EMT to save lives, but ten years later, the stress of his job is slowly killing him. He’s counting the days till he can escape San Amaro Island to be a scuba instructor on a cruise ship. With a decade-old estrangement from his family and no ties outside the fire station, there’s nothing holding him back. But when his big move is only a month away, the half sister he never wanted to meet, and her bulldog advocate, Mercedes, crash into his life.

Mercedes Stone is a sucker for underdogs and lost souls. Though she’s drowning in responsibilities as her grandma’s caretaker, a social media expert, and a women’s shelter volunteer, she can’t help being pulled into the plight of a homeless pregnant teenager. She’ll do anything to help her, including lock horns with Scott, the troubled but tempting half brother the girl’s determined to bond with. It doesn’t take Mercedes long to see he’s not the heartless jerk he wants everyone to believe he is.

Scott feels his hardened heart softening bit by bit, but he fights it every step of the way, knowing he’s the dark cloud to Mercedes’ bright sunshine. Will he chase the calmness he craves or will he figure out the best way to weather any storm is together?

Afterburn is a stand-alone novel in the Island Fire series.

My Thoughts

I’ve struggle with what to say about this great story. This is a story about redemption, about finding a family, about love, about peace, about well overcoming…………The characters are well written, realistic, and engaging. The setting, an island off of Texas, will make you want to visit the Texas coast and find this island! The story is easy to read and follow, even though this is part of a series you can easily read it as a stand alone title. You will find yourself wanting to know more about the secondary characters and visit the island again so be prepared to want to read the previous titles. The story keeps you entertained and quickly turning pages, eager to know what’s coming next, and yes reluctant to reach the end. I highly recommend all fans of great characters, an outstanding love story, and writing that leaves you eager for you pick up a copy of AFTERBURN today. You will be so very glad you did!

Reviewed by: WendyK

Rating: 5

Heat Rating: Mild
View all my reviews

God Loves Me, My First Bible by Susan Elizabeth Beck~~~a review

God Loves Me, My First BibleGod Loves Me, My First Bible by Susan Elizabeth Beck

 

  • Age Range: 4 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool – 3
  • Board book: 34 pages
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz; Brdbk edition (September 5, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310759315
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310759317
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 1 x 7.2 inches

The children came to Jesus

Who hugged them in his arms.

He blessed them, and he said a prayer

To keep them from all harm.

It’s never too early for little ones and toddlers to learn that—“God loves me!”

The God Loves Me, My First Bible contains simple, rhyming verses about Bible characters and important lessons about God’s love for his children. Parents and children will enjoy reading each story that emphasizes the overriding theme of the Bible: God loves his world, his people, and me!

My Thoughts

 

God Loves Me, My First Bible is a cute first bible for young kids. This would be a cute gift for a new parent to read along with their child. The words are easy to understand and the stories are told in a rhyming manner which make it easy for young children to understand and enjoy. You need to understand that these are just quick short easy to read “poems” that tell only a short basic idea of several stories from the Bible. These are not meant to give a new reader the whole story only to give them a basic idea of what the story may be about. For a more detailed telling you will need to read from a Child’s Bible or an adult Bible. But to start a young child on the path to learning more I do think this would be a wonderful gift. The cover is very colorful with glittery images and a texture that is easy to feel. The illustrations are colorful and easy to understand without any gory or distasteful imagery for young eyes to see.

This is a well made board book with a puffy cover and each page is made of a sturdy construction and would be easy for little hands to turn and touch. I do think this would be an easy book for young readers handle and to clean up any messes made on them.

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Reviewed by: WendyK

Rating: 4

No Heat Rating

View all my reviews

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers by Susan Collins Thoms & Robert Dunn~~~~a review

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime PrayersMay the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers by Susan Collins Thoms

 

  • Age Range: 4 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool – 3
  • Board book: 30 pages
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz; Brdbk edition (September 26, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310758734
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310758730

 

A Mighty God

No comet moves as fast as God,

No star can blaze as bright.

No planet in the universe

Can match his awesome might.

 

God is the source of everything,

Creator of us all.

He made and blessed this whole wide world,

All creatures great and small.

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers is filled with colorful, space-themed art and fifteen simple prayers for children to read with their parents at bedtime or anytime. This padded cover board book even glows in the dark!


My Thoughts

I received a copy of this book for my honest thoughts.
I have to say I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand it is cute, it does make you think space and star wars and I can see how that would appeal to some. On the other hand it’s a bible I would pick up for my own children. I feel like it tries too hard to follow current “fads” and trends vs staying true to the word of God. Don’t get me wrong with each prayer there is a bible verse. But also images that speak of well space and space exploration. I can see this book appealing to young kids but I would temper it with helping them to understand what each bible verse means and exploring more of God’s word. It says it’s a Glow in the Dark book, I haven’t tried that yet but I will. It is a cute book if used the proper way and as an introduction to God’s word. I might would give it to young child who is struggling with understanding science and it’s place in learning God’s word. But I would NOT let this be the only young reader prayer book or board book they have.

The book seems to be well made and would be easy to clean off and care for. The book is a board book therefore you do not have pages that you will worry about tearing. The price IMHO is responsible for the quality of the product.

Reviewed by WendyK

Rating: 3

No Heat Rating

View all my reviews

TOTALLY HIS By Erin Nicholas

Totally His (Opposites Attract #3)Totally His by

Erin Nicholas

Mass Market Paperback, 352 pages

Expected publication: October 31st 2017 by Forever
ISBN: 1455539724 (ISBN13: 9781455539727)

 

From Goodreads:

Actress Sophie Birch is used to having to look out for herself. So when her theater catches fire and a big guy scoops her up into his arms to save her, she’s going to fight every step of the way. Even if he’s a cop. And really sexy. And his arms feel oh-so-good.

Finn Kelly can’t help but appreciate how good the woman in his arms looks in her sexy pink lingerie. Even if she’s currently resisting arrest.

But as the two get to know each other, they’re both surprised by the things Finn is willing to do to get closer to her. And when Sophie’s estranged father arrives in town and starts causing trouble, the stage is set for disaster…unless Finn can convince her that, for once in her life, she has someone to lean on.

My Thoughts

This is book 3 in the Opposites Attract series from author Erin Nicholas. I haven’t read the previous two titles but certainly will after reading this great book. I loved Sophie and Finn! Their interactions are funny, engaging and HOT. Add in the sweetness that Finn and his family brings to the story and TOTALLY HIS is an outstanding romance story that’s full of family, love, and learning to let people be who they are. I absolutely loved the heat that Finn and Sophie share, but more than that I loved fact that it wasn’t just a story about two people it was a story about family, even the imperfect ones. Watching Sophie find her place to belong within a big family but also understand that hers wasn’t perfect but it still meant something. Fans of big families, hot romances, and great realistic imperfect characters will adore Totally His. I have to warn that once you find Erin Niholas’s stories you’ll be eager to read all of her books. I can’t wait to go back and read the first two! Highly Recommended!!!!

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Mild

Source: Netgalley review book

View all my reviews

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑