Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

NIrV, Under the Sea Holy Bible….a review

NIrV, Under the Sea Holy Bible, HardcoverNIrV, Under the Sea Holy Bible, Hardcover by Anonymous

Hardcover, 1152 pages
Published March 1st 2016 by Zonderkidz (first published September 1st 1998)
ISBN:0310754046
ISBN13: 9780310754046

 

 

*Summary from Goodreads*

The Under the Sea Holy Bible, NIrV is a perfect gift for children ages 6 to 10. Themes of underwater fun and sparkling fish grace the interior of this wonderful children’s Bible. The outside is covered in foil and sparkle. The interior has color inserts featuring whimsical underwater scenes with themes of God’s care and love for each of us and all of creation.

My Thoughts:

I don’t agree with the watering down of God’s word!!! You can not simply replace a difficult word with an easy word-they have specific meanings in the Hebrew and Greek and when you change the words you change the meaning of the verse!! My kids have no problem reading the King James version of the Bible and I feel that children should be taught from the Bible and not a version that is man’s interpretation.

Reviewed by: A Reviewer (name withheld)

No Rating because it is a Bible

My Thoughts:

A quick note, I agree with our reviewer on all NIV Bibles. However if you are seeking a Bible that is easy to read this one will suit that purpose, however readers need to know the True  wording of the Bible in order to fully appreciate it. This is a fun Bible but I wouldn’t let it be our only source of God’s Word.

Reviewed by WendyK

Family Tree by Susan Wiggs—a review

family-tree

Family Tree
By Susan Wiggs
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published August 9th 2016 by William Morrow
ISBN: 0062425439
(ISBN13: 9780062425430)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Summary from Goodreads*

For readers of Kristin Hannah and Jodi Picoult comes a powerful, emotionally complex story of love, loss, the pain of the past—and the promise of the future.

Sometimes the greatest dream starts with the smallest element. A single cell, joining with another. And then dividing. And just like that, the world changes.

Annie Harlow knows how lucky she is. The producer of a popular television cooking show, she loves her handsome husband and the beautiful Manhattan home they share. And now, she’s pregnant with their first child.

But in an instant, her life is shattered. And when Annie awakes from a year-long coma, she discovers that time isn’t the only thing she’s lost.

Grieving and wounded, Annie retreats to her old family home in Switchback, Vermont, a maple farm generations old. There, surrounded by her free-spirited brother, their divorced mother, and four young nieces and nephews, Annie slowly emerges into a world she left behind years ago: the town where she grew up, the people she knew before, the high-school boyfriend turned ex-cop. And with the discovery of a cookbook her grandmother wrote in the distant past, Annie unearths an age-old mystery that might prove the salvation of the family farm.

Family Tree is the story of one woman’s triumph over betrayal, and how she eventually comes to terms with her past. It is the story of joys unrealized and opportunities regained. Complex, clear-eyed and big-hearted, funny, sad, and wise, it is a novel to cherish and to remember.

 

My Thoughts
Really enjoyed this book!!!! Great story line alternating betwen “Then” and “Now”. The “now” parts  were my favorite but they were enhanced by the “then” parts.  Was nervous toward the end but was pleased with the conclusion!!!! Very hard to put down! Great read!!!!
reviewed by DC
Rating: 5
Heat Rating:

Time For Bed, Sleepyhead by Daniel G. Amen—a review (Children’s Book)

Time for Bed, Sleepyhead: The Falling Asleep BookTime for Bed, Sleepyhead: The Falling Asleep Book by Daniel Amen

Hardcover, 32 pages

Published September 6th 2016 by Zonderkidz

ISBN: 031075822X (ISBN13: 9780310758228)

 

Ten-time New York Times bestselling author and child and adolescent psychiatrist Dr. Daniel Amen teams up with artist Gail Yerrill to create a book that helps facilitate sleep. Time for Bed, Sleepyhead pairs whimsical illustrations with storytelling techniques to tire your child’s imagination in order to help them settle down at bedtime and fall asleep.

 My Thoughts (Our Thoughts)

I found this book to be quite enjoyable. I found it easy to read and I feel it would keep the little ones entertained. If you are in need of another nice book to help your little ones fall asleep this would be a good addition to the “bedtime” bookshelf.
Reviewed by WendyK

My Rating 4 of 5 stars

No Heat Rating

View all my reviews

 

Cute story-love that it involves a trip to the beach!! The characters are adorable!! My twin girls enjoyed the story! Great bedtime read!
Reviewed by DC
My Rating 5 out of 5 stars
no heat

THE CHRISTMAS ANGEL PROJECT by Melody Carlson—-a review

christmasangel
THE CHRISTMAS ANGEL PROJECT
Melody Carlson
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published August 30th 2016 by Fleming H. Revell Company
ISBN: 0800722698
ISBN13: 9780800722692
*summary from Goodreads*
Perfect for readers who want a heartwarming and hopeful Christmas story

Five women from different walks of life have become close friends through their book club–enjoying one another’s company even more than they enjoy the books. So when the leader of the book club unexpectedly passes away on the cusp of the Christmas season, the four remaining friends are stunned. They relied on Abby for inspiration and motivation. She was the glue that held them together, and they’re sure that without her the group can’t continue.
When the group gathers “one last time” to open a bag Abby’s husband gives them, they find Abby had made each of them an angel ornament for Christmas, crafted especially for each woman and accompanied by a sweet and personal note. Inspired by their beloved friend, together Cassidy, Louisa, Grace, and Belinda decide to commit themselves to becoming Christmas Angels to others in need. Each woman will use her life situation and talents to reach out and help others in her own unique way–little knowing that her own life and her relationships will be changed forever.
Fan favorite Melody Carlson is back with another touching Christmas story sure to grip readers’ hearts and perhaps inspire them to become Christmas Angels themselves.
My Thoughts
Wonderful read !!!! Fast moving plot that brings you right into the character’s lives.  Absolutely loved the ending!!! Must read for the holiday season!!
Reviewed by DC
Rating 5
Heat Rating: none

Welcoming the Bad Boy by Annie Rains….a review

Welcoming the Bad Boy (Hero's Welcome, #3)Welcoming the Bad Boy by Annie Rains

Published August 2nd 2016 by Loveswept
ISBN: 1101964790 (ISBN13: 9781101964798)

 

 

*Summary from Goodreads*

As a preacher’s daughter, Valerie Hunt only dates the very respectable, very boring men who meet her father’s strict standards. In private, however, she leads a double life as a romance writer of steamy stories about the least respectable sorts of men. Valerie has always kept her hottest fantasies separate from her real life, but when she nearly runs a hot-blooded biker off the road, the lines begin to blur.

Even though Valerie almost killed him, Griffin Black can’t be angry after he learns the reason for her distracted driving: an unruly puppy belonging to her ailing friend. As a member of the military police K-9 unit, Griffin insists on training the dog himself. But he soon wonders how he’s ever going to stay disciplined around the most alluring, down-to-earth, and totally unattainable woman he’s ever met. Valerie is the ultimate good girl. And Griffin is going to need all his old tricks to unleash her wild side.

My Thoughts:

WELCOMING THE BAD BOY is book 3 in the Hero’s Welcome series from author Annie Rains. I have NOT read the previous titles so as far as I can tell each book can be read as a stand alone title. It appears they are connected by the town and the military base vs a continuing story-line.

WELCOMING THE BAD BOY is Valerie Hunt and Griffin Black’s story. Valerie is the preacher’s daughter, the good girl with a “secret” and Griffin Black looks like the bad boy, but is he really?
I loved this story. It was quick, fun and so hilarious at times I couldn’t stop laughing. I loved that the heroine, Valerie, has a secret she thinks no one knows, watching has she learns the truth was such fun. Watching Griffin and Valerie as they fight their feelings was a joy to read. I also loved the addition of Griffin’s K-9 and the whole K-9 unit. It’s not often they are thought of as heroes so I loved seeing the MP unit get it’s attention. I am from NC so I always try to read books set in my state, something about them appeals to me and this one was no different. If you love contemporary small town romances with great writing and wonderful characters you’ll love WELCOMING THE BAD BOY by author Annie Rains. I can’t wait to read more in this series.

Rating: 5

Heat Rating: Mild
View all my reviews

Review: SWEET NOTHINGS by Natasha Lake

SWEET NOTHINGS

NATASHA LAKE

Publisher:  Natasha Lake

Published Date: September 27, 2016

ASIN:   B01KDGR8FA

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Source: Received for an honest review

Book Description (from Amazon)

Ivy Gibson has a way with chocolate and sugar that makes angels weep. But this baking genius knows, from long experience, when she lets her gypsy heart settle, she’s the one crying. At loose ends after a disastrous catering partnership with her dirty, rotten ex-boyfriend, Ivy finds herself helping out at her cousin’s start-up Nashville bakery. One year is what she plans for, but before her time is up, things get complicated.

Burke Wentworth is the definition of complicated. The hotelier and real estate developer is juggling the reopening of his family hotel and the recent left-at-the-altar scandal when his bride literally ran away. Though he hates being the focus of speculation, when an old nemesis declares social media war on Burke, it’s time to come out blazing.

A mutually beneficial relationship. That’s what Burke proposes to Ivy. He’ll help her find a worthy replacement for Sugar Babies Sweet Shop and she’ll offer him a no-strings-attached cover while he finalizes the reopening of the Wentworth Hotel. But when head-in-the-clouds Ivy spends time with feet-on-the-ground Burke, neither is prepared for the way their sweet-nothing relationship just might turn into everything.

MY THOUGHTS:

Sweet Nothings by Natasha Lake is the third Hale Street book and is a great opposites-attract story.  Burke, who almost married Violet’s sister Daisy is trying to finish the remodel of his hotel and revitalize Hale Street.  He’s not one for drama, messy emotions, or having a fun time.  He’s all business.  Ivy is the baker at Sugar Babies, a free spirit who can’t stay long in any one place.  So what are they doing being attracted to each other?

Just as Ivy’s starting to itch to hit the road again, Burke ends up with  a dilemma.  Once again, the forces are against Hale Street and this time Burke is in the crosshairs.  Ivy needs a replacement for Sugar Babies; Burke needs a cover to keep him out of the gossip column.  Neither are looking for a relationship.  It should work, right?

But the more they spend time with each other, the more Burke loosens up and the more Ivy wishes she were different and could stay.  But she knows from bitter experience that’s a bad idea.  Now Burke has to fight for a future together.

The Hale Street cast opens up even more in this sweetly funny installment.  Burke needs a little mess in his life and Ivy teaches him how to let go.  Ivy gets some good advice from the most unlikely of places, and finds that sometimes staying is the best thing after all.  This story is the most frothy of the three: more sweet, less angst, and a little lighter on the deep emotion.  It’s a lot like Ivy really: a little quirky, a little sweet, a little funny, with plenty of frosting on top.

I can’t wait to read the rest of the Hale Street series.

 RATING: 4

Heat Rating:  Mild

REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Review: SWEET SPOT by Amy Knupp

SWEET SPOT

AMY KNUPP

Publisher:  Lake House Books

Published Date: September 27, 2016

ASIN:   B01KE64YWO

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Source: Received for an honest review

Book Description (from Amazon)

Former marketing whiz Kennedy Lowell knows bartending isn’t her destiny. After derailing her life to epic proportions in one fell swoop, though, she’s content with the easy refuge of pouring drinks and keeping to herself. But the arrival of her sexy new boss and two wannabe friends who won’t take no for an answer throws Kennedy into a tailspin. Add the temptation of a homey new bakery desperately in need of a marketing genius and Kennedy begins to wonder if easy is all it’s cracked up to be.

Easy is Hunter Clayborne’s middle name. Uncomplicated is what he expects when he moves home to Nashville to take over the family business. What he finds, though, is the polar opposite of easy—a bar losing money, a family entrenched in doing things the old-fashioned way, and an irresistible redheaded bartender who keeps him at a cool distance in spite of their sizzling mutual attraction.

There’s nothing simple about the chemistry between Kennedy and Hunter. But sometimes, if you can work your way out of your comfort zone, that’s when you just might find your sweet spot.

MY THOUGHTS:

Sweet Spot by Amy Knupp is the second book of the Hale Street series and it is just as sweet as the first.  Kennedy, one third of Sugar Babies, has some serious trust issues.  She’s doing just fine on her own, thank you very much.  But Violet and Ivy won’t take no for an answer and drag her into their sphere of influence.  

Hunter Clayborne, Kennedy’s boss and secret interest, isn’t interested in taking no for an answer either.  He has issues of his own – namely taking over the family bar on Hale Street and turning it around.  His Dad’s not on board, but Hunter knows something has to change.  He’s sure that he can get Kennedy to the right place, just like the bar, if only he could get past all her roadblocks.

Outside forces are working against both Kennedy and Hunter.  But they both find strength from their circle of friends and then each other.  Each tentative step forward on Kennedy’s part is huge, and when trouble strikes Hunter is there just as much as Ivy and Violet.

Kennedy is a great character with her struggles and fears.  Hunter’s patience and understanding matches her and is exactly what she needs.  The chemistry is so there and the adversity they both go through only brings them closer together.  Sweet Spot is a bit more angsty than Sweet Thing which I really liked.  It also introduces us to a wider set of characters.  I especially liked seeing how Hale Street is shaping up and the growth of the characters and their venture.

 RATING: 4

Heat Rating:  Mild

REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Review: SWEET THING by Emily Leigh

SWEET THING

EMILY LEIGH

Publisher:  Emily Leigh

Published Date: September 27, 2016

ASIN:   B01KEKA9BA

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Source: Received for an honest review

Book Description (from Amazon)

As the oldest daughter of one of Nashville’s elite families, Violet Calloway strives to live up to the family name. Her discerning mother taught her to choose the right clothes, the right career, and the right men. But when her father dies and leaves Violet a ramshackle building on a lifeless street, Violet starts to question whether her choices are really her own. Building Sugar Babies Sweet Shop seems like the right thing for her and Violet thinks she may have her new life all figured out until Nick Morello steps through her doors and rocks the world beneath her feet. Too bad for her, he has a huge chip on his shoulder and the kind of swagger her mother disapproves of.

Nick Morello knows he has a lot of mistakes to make up for. His best shot at becoming a partner in the family construction business lies in the successful completion of Violet Calloway’s Sugar Babies. Get the bakery done and the rest of the business on Hale Street just might fall in line. He’s got this, he’s so got this, until he comes face to face with Violet and realizes that she may be his biggest mistake yet.

MY THOUGHTS:

Sweet Thing is the first book in the brand new Hale Street series, a collaboration by three authors.  The series certainly opens up with a bang!  Violet’s father has recently passed away and he has left a legacy, in the form of Hale Street properties to his daughters Violet and Daisy.  Daisy is soon to be married to their father’s partner in the Hale Street venture and Violet is wondering what to do with her inheritance.  It isn’t long before she embarks on an adventurous enterprise with her cousin Ivy and new friend Kennedy – Sugar Babies.  Opening a bakery on a mostly deserted street isn’t easy, especially since the building has to be remodeled.

Enter Nick.  Nick is hoping to get the job and get into the Hale Street rebuild not just because he really wants it – he does – but also to prove to his brother he can do this and redeem himself.  It’s a tough spot to be in, but he is determined to make things right.

In swift order, we are introduced to Kennedy and Ivy who make up the triumvirate with Violet at Sugar Babies and then Hunter and Burke, who round out the men’s side.  Just as the three women come together into a tight unit, so too do the men.  Their shared vision of what Hale Street can be draws them all together.

I really enjoyed Violet’s story – a story about growing up, overcoming adversity, strong sisterhood, and accepting love.  I liked seeing Violet grow and become strong, and seeing her help others to become strong as well.  There was great chemistry between Nick and Violet and plenty of ups and downs as they work on their relationship.  They both had something to prove and found that together, they were better.  Violet, Ivy, and Kennedy also grow into a strong group, with excellent sisterhood dynamics (which remind me a little of Lauren Dane’s strong sisterhoods).  Seeing the men bond as well is a bonus.  This is a great start to the series!

 RATING: 4

Heat Rating:  Mild

REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Finding Chris Evans: The 9-1-1 Edition by Erin Nicholas….a review

Finding Chris Evans: The 9-1-1 Edition (Finding Chris Evans #2)Finding Chris Evans: The 9-1-1 Edition by Erin Nicholas

 

  • Publisher: EN Fiction, Inc. (October 10, 2016)
  • Publication Date: October 10, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LXK7243
  • Series: Finding Chris Evans Book 1

 

 

 

 

In a small town in northern Minnesota, Ellie Mittelstadt goes to a psychic where she receives this prediction: if she finds a man named Chris Evans, true love will follow…

Only one problem: Even in the tiny town of Haralson, Minnesota, there are six Chris Evanses!

In Finding Chris Evans: the 9-1-1 Edition, Chris Evans, aka Captain America to his co-workers, knows what he wants: to lead the best EMT crew around, save lives…and have everything done his way. He’s learned firsthand what can happen when he’s not hyper vigilant, so running the show has become his superpower.

If only he could manage Brittney McNemara quite so well. She’s the best EMT he knows—and the most exasperating woman on the planet. Where Chris is serious, Britt is scattered. Where Chris is cautious, Britt is carefree. Where Chris is by-the-book, Britt is rebellious. Despite their intense attraction, they’d never work as a couple.

Or could they?

When Britt gets hurt on the job and temporarily loses use of her thumb, she needs someone to be her left-hand man. Chris, ever the hero, volunteers. Little does he know that Britt’s passion for fun masks a need to care for others that rivals his own. And that now the woman who’s been driving him crazy at work is about to drive him even crazier—in her kitchen, in her bedroom, and on a paint ball field.

Forget the Friend Zone. Chris is about to enter the Fun Zone. Because sometimes even a superhero can’t help but fall in love.

Now’s your chance to fall in love with Chris Evans, too–six different times! The Finding Chris Evans series features NYT and USA Bestselling authors Erin Nicholas, Jennifer Bernard and Erin McCarthy, and award-winning authors Lizzie Shane, Elizabeth Bemis and Jennifer Chance.

My Thoughts

This is the first novella in the FINDING CHRIS EVANS series. If you haven’t read the free prequel (Finding Chris Evans: The Fortune Teller Edition-free prequel), I’d suggest you read it, but you won’t feel lost even if you don’t.

This is Chris Evans, the EMT and Brittney McNemara’s story. I have to say that I truly enjoyed reading their romance. They’ve know each other for months and fought against any feelings since Chris is Brittney’s boss. This is a great novella that will leave you smiling. The story is fun, the characters are realistic and engaging and yes fun as well. It’s a quick easy read. Just be warned once you read this one you’ll be eager to read the rest of the Finding Chris Evans series. I’m so glad they are releasing close together.

Rating: 4
Heat Rating: Mild

Received a complimentary copy of this story.

View all my reviews

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑