Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

A MOST UNLIKELY DUKE by Sophie Barnes….a review

A Most Unlikely Duke (Diamonds in the Rough, #1)A Most Unlikely Duke by Sophie Barnes

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Series: Diamonds in the Rough, #1

Source : I received a complimentary copy.

  • Publication date: June 27, 2017
  • Publisher: Avon
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LXF0026
  • Length: 384 pages

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

He never thought he’d become a duke, or that the secrets of his past would cost him his greatest love…

 

Raphe Matthews hasn’t stepped foot in polite circles since a tragedy left his once-noble family impoverished and in debt. The bare-knuckle boxer has spent the last fifteen years eking out an existence for himself and his two sisters. But when a stunning reversal of fortune lands Raphe the title of Duke of Huntley, he’s determined to make a go of becoming a proper lord, but he’ll need a little help, and his captivating neighbor might be just the woman for the job…

 

After her sister’s scandalous match, Lady Gabriella knows the ton’s eyes are on her. Agreeing to tutor the brutish new duke can only lead to ruin. Although she tries to control her irresistible attraction to Raphe, every day she spends with him only deepens her realization that this may be the one man she cannot do without. And as scandal threatens to envelop them both, she must decide if she can risk everything for love with a most unlikely duke.

Available for pre-order at all major outlets!! Reserve your copy today!!

MY THOUGHTS:

A Most Unlikely Duke by Sophie Barnes
is an interesting and stimulating Regency Romance. Book 1 in a new and what promises to be an incredible series, “Diamonds in the Rough”. Fast paced, exciting with engaging characters and an intriguing plot. Our hero, Raphe, is certainly a diamond in the rough, but an exciting one, to be sure.

Raphe Matthews, a bare-knuckle boxer who, was born into the gentry, but due to a tragedy, he and his family are left impoverished and in debt. Raphe, at age of eight, started taking care of himself and his three siblings, working on the docks and prize fighting. Unfortunately, one sibling was lost to the streets St. Giles, which still eats at him. He has spent the last fifteen grueling years, attempting to make a living for himself and his two surviving younger sisters. When a stunning reversal of fortune hands Raphe the title of Duke of Huntley, he is determined to become a proper Duke and give his sisters a better life.

Lady Gabriella, Ralpe’s new neighbor, has been brow beaten by her parents, since her sister’s scandalous match, she knows the ton’s eyes are on her to find a proper match. However, she agrees to tutor the new duke, a brutish hunk of a Duke, at that, but it can only lead to her ruin, but she agrees anyway. Raphe, is an honorable man, who honors his commitments, even if it would bring scandal to them all.

Together, Raphe and Gabriella, fight their attraction to each other, as well as
the scandal that is brewing. This story is heartwarming, as well as, intriguing, entertaining and proves, you can overcome the circumstances you are born into, by no fault of your own.
I was drawn into this story from the first page until the last, and can not wait to see what the next book in what promises, to be a most incredible series, will be about.

Ms. Barnes, is an amazing and talented author, who draws the reader into her stories with her characterizations, her details to Regency history, and her dramatization of the situations her characters find themselves in. “A Most Unlikely Duke”, is powerful, compelling and an excellent choice for any fan of historical fiction, romance, drama with stunning characters and a most unlikely plot. Masterfully written. A really great read, in my opinion!
I received a complimentary copy.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Received by: AprilR

CLAIMED BY THE BOUNTY HUNTER by Emma Prince…review

Claimed by the Bounty Hunter (Highland Bodyguards #4)Claimed by the Bounty Hunter by Emma Prince

 

Genre: Historical Romance (Medieval Scotland)

Series: Highland Bodyguards #4

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: April 3, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XFBNGGX
  • Length: 381 pages

 

(Courtsey of Amazon)

Product Description

To protect his cover, he must claim her as his captive. To save her own life, she must claim his heart…

A gruesome siege destroys Kirk MacLeod’s faith in the Scottish fight for independence. Robert the Bruce promises to release Kirk from his service if he completes one final assignment: infiltrate the deadly bounty hunter league that has thwarted the Scots’ cause for years. Kirk plays the part of a cold-blooded mercenary almost too well. But when the league orders him to kidnap a beautiful Englishwoman, he must choose between following his mission and following his heart.

Lillian Fitzhugh’s late husband leaves her with a powerful secret—one that has men willing to capture and kill for it. When she’s taken by Kirk, a ruthless Highland bounty hunter set to deliver her to the men who murdered her husband, she fears all is lost. But she senses that beneath her captor’s hardened exterior lies the heart of an honorable man. To gain her freedom, she must unravel the truth of Kirk’s identity. In doing so, she ensnares them both in a dangerous web of desire and secrets that may cost them both their lives.

 

Book 4 of 4 in Highland Bodyguards (4 Book Series)

 

 

**Now available on all major outlets ** Be sure to pick up your copy today. **

My Thoughts:

Claimed by the Bounty Hunter by Emma Prince is an amazing addition to the “Highland Bodyguards” series. While book 4, it can be read as a stand alone. I would strongly recommend adding this series to your reading experience. It is an outstanding series, to me

Well written, fast paced, action packed, with inner turmoil, heart-pounding fight scenes, and a trek across Scotland, makes for a fabulous Scottish Historical Romance. The romance is a definite plus, as well as, the struggle to find one’s inner self, again, adds much emotional baggage, as Kirk MacLeod fights to regain his faith in Robert the Bruce’s fight to free Scotland. He lost his faith, due to a gruesome seige in Ireland, while in service to Robert the Bruce’s, brother, Edward. By doing this one last deed for the cause, Robert the Bruce, agrees to release Kirk from his service to him and the cause, which, is a dangerous assignment, going undercover within, the ruthless Order, a group of cold-blooded mercenaries, bounty hunters for hire, to find and destroy the head of this ruthless organization, which has been one step ahead if them at every turn. Will Kirk lose himself and become part of this ruthless Order, or can he save himself and Lillian?

Kirk’s target, Lillian Fitzhugh, a widow, whose late husband, supposely leaves her with a powerful secret—one that these men are willing to capture, torture and kill to get the information. Which, is what they did to Lillian’s husband. Now, Lillian has been captured by this ruthless Highland bounty hunter, but she senses there is more to Kirk then his exterior persona.
Kirk is caught between his duty to King and country, his assignment for the Order, and his feelings for so the brave, and mild mattered, Lillian, who brings a sense of peace to Kirk. Will Kirk and Lillian survive their trek across Scotland to found the own victories? Or lose all to duty? You must read this incredible Scottish Romance to find out the answers. This story has so much to offer readers, it leaves the reader breathless and absolutely enthralled, as they follow Kirk and Lillian’s story. The reader is also introduced to a new character, Eric, I so wish to learn more of him and his beloved sister. Ah, yet another story in the intriguing “Highland Bodyguards” series!

Fans of Scottish intrigue, heart-pounding action, historical intrigue, lasses with true strength, and bravery, and a Scottish warrior with much inner turmoil, are sure to enjoy Kirk and Lilluan’s story. There is so much to recommend, “Claimed by the Bounty Hunter”, to readers, I was glued to the pages from the first page forward.

Powerful, and compelling, with twists and turns and a few surprises and a treasure of a romance. I believe this is my favorite in this mesmerizing series. Simply awe inspiring and breathtaking as Kirk and Lillian make their way across Scotland, to find their HEA.

A definite must read! Ms Prince is a talented author and one of my favorite Scottish romance authors. I would like to thank, Ms. Prince for an excellent job of bringing readers a heart-pounding reading experience, once again!!! Bravo, Emma Prince! !

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

Burn So Bright by Jennifer Bernard….a review

Burn So Bright (Jupiter Point, # 2)Burn So Bright by Jennifer Bernard

Kindle Edition, 316 pages
Published December 13th 2016
ASIN: B01N954U1I

 

Summary from Goodreads:

USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Bernard returns to Jupiter Point–where sparks are starting to fly…

Wildfire “hotshot” Josh Marshall is all about fun, firefighting and flirting. But ever since his crew got trapped in a burnover, he’s been plagued with recurring nightmares. It’s not just the fire haunting him – it’s an ongoing family drama that’s kept him determined to stay strictly unattached. Now that’s all changing—but is it thanks to that near-death experience or his attraction to the sexy, fascinating, engaged Suzanne Finnegan?

Suzanne, honeymoon-planner extraordinaire, knows exactly what she wants: marriage and a stable home like the one her family lost in the financial crash. Her fiancé Logan fits the bill perfectly, unlike the distracting, live-for-the-moment Josh Marshall. Sure, her chemistry with Josh is insane and Logan is way more focused on his work than their relationship. But she has a plan, and she’s sticking to it.

Except fate has a way of making plans go up in smoke.

When Suzanne’s fiancé goes MIA at the worst possible time, Josh saves the day. Then the heartbreakingly handsome firefighter gets badly hurt saving one of his crewmates in a wildfire, and Suzanne finds herself coming to his rescue. Jupiter Point’s real-life hero is fast becoming a partner she can truly count on—even if she knows it can never last.
Still, if they’re all wrong for each other, why does it feel so right? Because there’s simply no ignoring sparks that Burn So Bright.

My Thoughts

WOW! I have read every book Jennifer Bernard has written and I have to say she just keeps getting better and better. I fell in love with Josh when I read the first Jupiter Point book, SET THE NIGHT ON FIRE. He’s such a fun character, and always makes every scene he’s actually in better. I loved the heroine, Suzanne, from the first book as well. But Josh I think steals the show each and every time. Together they are a pair you just can’t help but root for. Watching them clash, and interact is awesome. I love small town romances, feeling like you are part of the town, connecting with more than just a few characters, it’s all so very appealing to me. BURN SO BRIGHT is one of the best books I’ve read this year. The setting is engaging, the characters are realistic and fun, the writing it outstanding and the overall storyline leaves you smiling and wanting more. This is one of those can’t put down, why does it have to end reads that will leave you eager for more. I can’t wait to see what Jupiter Point has to offer next! Please write faster Ms. Bernard, I need to visit Jupiter Point again and soon. Highly Recommended!

Reviewed by WendyK
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Hot
View all my reviews

Set the Night on Fire by Jennifer Bernard…a review

Set the Night on Fire (Jupiter Point, #1)Set the Night on Fire by Jennifer Bernard

Kindle Edition, 249 pages
Published September 28th 2016 by Jennifer Bernard
ASIN:B01KS6W3HI

Summary from Goodreads:

USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Bernard is back with a brand new series about the wild and sexy firefighters of Jupiter Point.

The town bad boy is back to clear his name

Firefighter Sean Marcus left Jupiter Point in disgrace, but now he’s coming home to clear his name. As the man in charge of setting up the new Jupiter Point Hotshots wildfire crew, he’s out to prove he’s no longer the troubled boy who fled after a night of violence. He’s back for one reason only–and it isn’t to fall in love.

The town sweetheart has a secret

Evie McGraw has never spoken about that night. But she can’t escape it, especially now that her brother’s wild friend Sean is back. Rugged, sexy and irresistible, he’s the only one who knows what happened. Evie put her life on hold to protect her family, but now, she has to make a choice. Keep silent…or put her heart on the line and let Sean help heal the past?

My Thoughts

Wow what a great beginning. I love how Ms. Bernard pulls you into the characters stories, not just the romance but their whole lives. The setting is so realistically written I want to visit. With Set The Night on Fire we are introduced to a new team of smoke jumpers, and I can’t wait to see what Ms. Bernard has in store for this team, men and women, next. Fans of great writing with a romance that’s hot but also touches on some strong and tough emotions will be thrilled with this read. I recommend you plan to read this one in one setting. It’s a keeper shelf book. I can’t wait for the next story! Write faster Ms. Bernard, write faster!

Reviewed by WendyK

Rating: My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Hot

View all my reviews

Into the Flames by Jennifer Bernard…a review

Into the Flames by Jennifer Bernard

Kindle Edition, 292 pages
Expected publication: March 14th 2017
ISBN13: 9781945944154

 

 

 

 

 

Summary from Goodreads:
From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Bernard…sometimes the only way forward is into the flames …

To his wildfire hotshot crew, he’s Rollo–firefighter, loyal friend, lifesaver. To his family, he’s Rollington Wareham III, black sheep and heir to a banking fortune. But now that he’s turned thirty, Rollo knows his days of firefighting and freedom are over. He has responsibilities. Duties. Goodbye hotshots, hello boardroom—and a socially acceptable bride. This is absolutely the worst time to realize just how sexy and adorable his good friend Brianna is.

Put her in a garden with some plants, and Brianna Gallagher knows just what to do. Send her on a date with an attractive man and things get awkward. Epically awkward. It’s a good thing she and Rollo are such great friends. It would be a total disaster if she started noticing his ripped physique and sculpted muscles. Kissing him is a definite no-no. As for falling into bed … well, that might be okay as long as they both know it’s a limited time deal. She doesn’t belong in his world, and he can’t stay in hers. No matter how much she’s falling for him.

But fate has a way of changing people’s plans. When a family crisis follows Rollo to Jupiter Point, he turns to the one woman he trusts above all others. Throw in a disastrous visit to Manhattan, a bride hunt, and the world’s most awkward crush, and it will take a miracle to bring them together. Or a shocking event that puts Brianna’s life at risk …

My Thoughts
OMG OMG OMG!!! This is Rollo’s story and what a wonderful story it is. I love Rollo. He’s just so big and sweet. Ms. Bernard has written a story that at turns is sweet, funny, sexy, and above all emotional. There are so many things about this story I loved, the characters, the story-line, the passion, the action, there’s even a touch of mystery to this one. Fans of this series have already meet Rollo, however if you are new to the series, don’t worry you’ll still love him. He’s a guy caught between two worlds, the world he loves, his Firefighter crew, and the world he was born into, the world of wealth and privilege that leaves him frustrated and angry. I loved watching Rollo find his place between these two worlds and falling in love with his best friend, Brianna. Brianna is a fun character, she’s strong, but also unsure of herself. I love that Rollo loves her as she is and doesn’t want her to be anyone else or to change. Brianna is the ultimate tomboy. And she has a crush on someone else. Watching her realize that the crush was just that and didn’t really mean anything as she realized her feelings for Rollo was such fun. If you are new to Jennifer Bernard this is a great book to start with. You will not be lost but you will want to read the previous books, just because they are great reads. INTO THE FLAMES is book 3 in the Jupiter Point series. I’m so eager to see what’s next for this series. I highly recommend this one to EVERYONE!

Reviewed by: WendyK

Rating: My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Hot

View all my reviews

UNBREAKABLE HEART by Kara Griffin….review

Unbreakable Heart (Legend of the King's Guard Book 2)Unbreakable Heart by Kara Griffin

Genre: Historical Romance (Medieval)

Series: Legend of the King’s Guard #2

Source: I received a complimentary copy.

  • Publication date: February 28, 2017
  • Publisher: CreateSpace
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06WLJ2NGV
  • Length: 272 pages

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

After losing the love of his life, Liam of Clan Kincaid is sent in service for what his uncle considers betrayal. Liam gives himself to the battle wearied king, Robert the Bruce, and vows to mend his tarnished reputation. That would be easy if not for the lass who insists he aids her.

Makenna Mackenzie has lived through hell. Her home and land taken by the English. All she wants to do is seek vengeance on the man who cut off her ear and destroyed everything dear in her heart. The only way to achieve her goal is to plead with the legendary king’s guard. She wants them to train her to be a mercenary like they so she can use her sword to the fullest when she finally meets her enemy.

Liam finds himself in a quandary because Makenna is not the sweet lass he deems her to be. But his UNBREAKABLE HEART can withstand her, can’t it?

Available at Amazon! Pick up your copy today! 

My Thoughts:

Unbreakable Heart (Legend of the King’s Guard Book 2) by Kari Griffin is such an intriguing tale of love and passion. While, Book 2 in “Legends of the King’s Guard”, it can be read as a stand alone. See, “Conquered Heart”.
Well written, fast paced, adventure filled with engaging, with well-developed and intriguing characters. The characterization and vivid descriptions will have the reader in awe.

This is the story of Liam of Clan Kincaid and Makenna Mackenzie. Liam is one of Robert the Bruce’s legendary “Legend of the King’s Guard”. Makenna has been though a nigtmare, she seen her entire family and clan killed by a group of English soldiers. Her younger sister was also, raped and brutalized, by the commanding officer, known as, Hawk. Makenna thought her sister dead. Out for vengeance, MacKenna, meets with the legendary guard, Liam, who happens to be her long time absence betrothed. She needs Liam to teach her how to use a sword, to kill her enemy. So they make a pack, she would marry him and he would train her to weld a sword.
Liam needs Makenna in order to have his father’s lands returned to him. Liam and his friends live in a cave, in hiding due to a misundstanding with Robert the Bruce, now King, which could get them all hanged for treason.

Together, can Liam and Makenna find their HEA or loss all to the need for revenge? I enjoyed watching Liam and Makenna become friends, lovers and soul mates. Liam would do anything to protect Makenna including death. Can she and Liam’s friends save him, before it’s too late?
Secrets, second chances, danger, passion, friendship, love and romance brings “Unbreakable Heart”, to an awesome climax. I absolutely loved Liam and Makenna’s story. It was compelling, powerful and enticing. I enjoyed how they each came to terms with their past, their heartache and find their way to a possible future of love and happiness.
Ms. Griffin, has written with emotion, the visualizations so real the reader feel Makenna’s horror, her desire for vengeance, and smell the Highland atmosphere. What an impressive Scottish Romance! A must read for fans of Highland Warriors, Scottish romance, Medieval romance, delicate situations, and great reads. Highly recommended! I can’t wait to read the next “Legend of the King’s Guards” book. This series is such an adventure, I was held spellbound and could not put this title down. Read it in one reading. Masterful and brilliantly written!!
I received a complimentary copy.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

ROMANCING THE ROGUE by Erica Ridley. …review

Romancing the Rogue (Gothic Historical Romance, #2)Romancing the Rogue by Erica Ridley

Genre: Historical Romance  (Regency)

Series: Gothic Historical Romance #2

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: March 21, 2017
  • Publisher: WebMotion
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N1UH2GA
  • Length: 188 pages

 

(Courtsey of Amazon)

Product Description

When the new earl inherits, poor relation Miss Rebecca Bond must wed immediately or be out on her ear. The only man she’s ever loved is summoned to hear the will—but he already rejected her so soundly that they haven’t spoken in years. Yet who better than a rakish Viscount to teach her how to snare a gentleman who appreciates her charms?

Daniel Goodenham, Lord North Barrows, regrets nothing more than the lost friendship with the one woman who treated him like a man, not a title. Fate has given him the perfect pretext to win her forgiveness—even if it means having to matchmake her to someone else. But now that she’s back in his life, he’ll do anything to convince her to choose him instead…

This story first appeared in the Vexed anthology.

 

 

**Available for 99 cents**

Check out Amazon or your favorite bookstore and pre-order your copy today!

MY THOUGHTS: 

Romancing the Rogue by Erica Ridley is an absolute delight to read. #2 in the her exciting “Gothic Historical Romance” series, which, it can be read as stand alone.
**It originally featured in the Anthololoy “Vexed”, which is were I first encountered this fantastic read.** I also enjoyed it so much, when the opportunity arose, I purchased it as an individual read. Yes, it is that good!

A quick read that is easy to read and the characters easily capture your heart. 188 pages, packed full of entertainment, an interesting and intriguing plot, as well as characters who are charming and need a second chance in life and love.

“Romancing the Rogue” is the story of
Daniel Goodenham, Lord North-Barrows and Miss Rebecca Bond. Daniel, unfortunately, shunned Rebecca years ago, he was the only man she ever loved and Rebecca was the only woman who ever treated Daniel as a man not a title.
When the new earl inherits, Rebecca finds herself the “poor relation”, about to be kicked out of her home. Enter, fate and Daniel…. Can Daniel, now win her forgiveness and win her heart?
Rebecca is a strong, self reliant, and self sufficient lady with brains and intelligence. A very strong, likable and realistic character. Daniel, on the other hand, needed time to mature into the man he has become in order to realize what he really wants out of life.
Together these two great characters find forgiveness, healing, the discovery that old wounds can heal to find HEA.

Easy to read, the characterizations and the vivid descriptions added the emotionally charged moments to make “Romancing the Rogue” a really wicked, but delicious romp in Regency England. I was so captured by the characters, the scenery and of course, the plot, I couldn’t put “Romancing the Rogue” down, until the very last page. This is one of those read you can re-read over and over again.

Once again, Ms. Ridley has brought readers a perfect escape through the world of Regency England. I have never been disappointed in one of Erica Ridley’s masterfully written stories, in fact, I always look forward to her next grand adventure. She is one of my favorite Regency Romance authors.

Fans of Regency Romance, strong heroines, determined heroes, redemption, forgiveness, captivating characters, quick reads, and the thrill of romance are truly in for a treat.
A definite must read Regency Romance! I strongly recommend picking up a copy of “Romancing the Rogue”, for yourself, I don’t feel your be disappointed.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

**DEBUT AUTHOR** ASHLEY: A SWEET MAIL-ORDER BRIDE by Kate Connors. ..review

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar Book 1)Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance by Kate Connors

Genre: Historical Romance (Montana)

Serie: Brides of Cinnabar #1

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: February 21, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06WWDQWQF
  • Length: 170 pages

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Description

Mal McElhoes’ spur-of-the-moment purchase of a sheep herd might not have been his smartest decision. The ranch in rough and tumble Cinnabar, Montana, on the outskirts of Yellowstone Park, is more work than he can manage, especially with good-for-nothing ranch hands. And he’s even losing those, thanks to the new railroad coming through. He needs more help and companionship than his loyal, whip-smart collie can offer. What he really needs is a wife.

Ashley Sullivan’s prospects in New Hampshire are bleak. Her family’s fallen on hard times. She does what she can to help out, but she doesn’t want to be a burden on them. Besides, she’s holding a few secrets in her heart: she’d like to run her own boarding house someday, she’d like a grand adventure, and, just maybe, she could fall in love. So when an offer to be a mail order bride to a sheep rancher in Montana comes up, she leaps at the chance.

Construction on the National Pacific Railroad nearby brings new opportunities for Mal and Ashley. But it also brings new dangers. When his sheep start disappearing, mail ordering a bride might turn out to be the smartest decision Mal ever made…

 

**Available for 99 cents! Pick up your copy today! !**

MY THOUGHTS :

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar Book 1) by Kate Connors is a sweet, heartwarming tale of life, and challenges on the Western frontier. Definitely, promises to be an interesting and intriguing series! Set in Cinnabar, Montana, which is on the outskirts of Yellowstone Park. A debut author, and what a debut!

Mal McElhoes purchases a sheep herd on the spur-of-the-moment, which may not have been such as great an idea, as he first thought. He keeps losing his ranch hands and his herd due to the railway coming through. His companion, is a smart, savvy and loyal, border collie, named, Cindy.
Ashley Sullivan’s from Portsmouth, New Hampshire where her prospects are bleak, especially, with her family fallen on hard times. A secret she as held within within her heart….she would like to run her own boarding house one day. What’s a girl to do, when she wishes not to be a burden to her family….become a mail order sheep rancher’s bride, of course. She is business savvy, smart, can run the buckhouse, and her organizational skills are great. She is also looking for a grand adventure of her own. So when she is offered this mail order bride position she accepts without a second thought.
Trouble and danger is on the horizon for this young, newly married couple…
Ashley and Mal run into a few difficulties along the way, someone is running off their sheep, the construction on the National Pacific Railroad nearby brings new opportunities but also brings problems, as danger lurks, they could lose everything. They have to work together to save their ranch, face danger head on, and learn to accept each other’s strengths and weaknesses.

Steady paced, well written tale with many emotions and a unique mail order bride read, I don’t think I’ve read a story where the ranch involves sheep not cattle, which made it even more interesting, to me. The characters were entertaining, strong-willed, determined, likeable and realistic. The cast of characters were a great contrast of troublesome, witty and strong characters, which definitely added to the appeal of “Ashley”. There were some laugh-out-moments.
Kate Connors is a debut author, and I thoroughly enjoyed her charactization, her detail to history, her writing style and her ability to draw me into the story and hold me glued to the pages, as I read Mal and Ashley’s story. Definitely an author to watch for in the future! A page turner, with grit, substance and clean romance. A heartwarming and uplifting story of life’s challenges, struggles, hope, triumphs, trials, and the thrill of finding acceptance, love and sweet romance. An absolute great read! This story leads the reader into the next grand adventure of the “Brides of Cinnabar” series, which I can’t wait to read!

Pick up “Ashley”, for your next Western Historical Romance read. Strongly recommended for fans of Sweet, Clean romance, Western Historical romance with a few twists, a bit of mystery, suspense, and HEA. Great job, Kate Connors! !

Rating: 4
Heat rating: Sweet/Clean
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

REGENCY ROMANCE: THE GENTLEMAN’S LAW OF LOVE by Eleanor Meyers…a review

Regency Romance: The Gentleman's Law on Love (A Wardington Park Book): The Elkins Brothers : Historical RomanceRegency Romance: The Gentleman’s Law on Love (A Wardington Park Book): The Elkins Brothers : Historical Romance by Eleanor Meyers

 

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Series: A Wardington Park Novel, The Elkins Brothers #2

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: February 19, 2017
  • Publisher: ShermanBrooks Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06X94ZRZJ
  • Length: 330 pages

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

They were ill-matched… The rules didn’t matter, after all…

Page Count: around 330 pages

As the daughter of a very powerful earl, Lady Rebecca Garrett has lived under the rule of Society by day.
However… at night, she becomes one of London’s most notorious authors.

Living under the shadows no longer fulfills this heiress, so she’s ready to come out of the dark with her own book and has found just the story…

A story that she least expected!

But this comes with a condition.
She’ll have to go through a very stern, dull, yet very attractive solicitor to get it.

All work and no play has made the handsome Mr. Neil Elkin a very dull gentleman.
At least, this is what Lady Rebecca Garrett believes…
So, she’s self-appointed herself to be the one who challenges everything the young and successful lawyers knows.

But when work passions turn into a very different passion altogether, both will question if their story can end in happily-ever-after…

Page Count: around 330 pages

MY THOUGHTS: 

Regency Romance: The Gentleman’s Law on Love (A Wardington Park Book): The Elkins Brothers: Historical Romance by Eleanor Meyers is another intriguing tale of romance, love, ghost writers, intrigue and mystery. While, part of a continuating series, each book can be read as a stand alone.

This is the story of Mr. Neil Elkin, one of the Elkins brothers, a very dull solicitor, but who is also, mysterious and elusive gentleman, and maybe not so dull, after all. He meets his perfect match with the elusive and mysterious Lady Rebecca Garrett, daughter of a very powerful earl, who has lived by society’s dull, frustrating and sometimes difficult rules, all her life. She is also one of London’s most notorious writers, Thomas Ludlow. Until she meets the elusive Neil…..

I found myself drawn into Neil and Rebecca’s story, their struggles, which is, addictive, intriguing and entertaining, by the way, as their attraction blossoms into something more, maybe into the promise of love.

Ms. Meyers has once again brought readers a tale of intrigue, while, chasing a ghost, real or not, that is the question. Does have twists and turns abound! Think you can guess who the ghost is, maybe not? ?

What happens when you cross an elusive but confirmed bachelor with a bluestocking authoress writing under a male pseudonym, through in a mixture of gypsies, some mystery and suspense, you get an enticingly addictive, heart pounding Regency Romance. Another great Wardington Park adventure with an added twist of the Elkins brothers. Whew, what an adventure full of surprises! ! I think each book just keeps getting better and better. This was the best one so far!!

My hat goes off to Eleanor Meyers for her talented writing, who manages to pull off a clean romance with exticement and pseudo-naughtism, with only heated kisses. Yes, I know no such word as pseudo-naughtism!! An exciting Clean Regency Romance!

Highly recommended for fans of clean romances, Regency romance, fast paced stories with suspense, mystery and intrigue. Well done, Eleanor Meyers!! Can’t wait for the next adventure!

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Sweet/Clean
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑