Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

Setting Off Sparks by Jennifer Bernard

Happy Release Day to author Jennifer Bernard

Setting Off Sparks by Jennifer Bernard

OUT TODAY
ASIN: B0727R2KVF

 

USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Bernard returns to the town readers are falling in love with…

In one fiery moment, Finn Abrams went from cocksure firefighter to scarred survivor. Now all he wants is to put his life together again, get back on a hotshot crew, and figure out exactly what happened to him during the Big Canyon burnover. He never expected to be knocked off his feet by a gorgeous, no-nonsense stranger to Jupiter Point—the one woman who seems completely immune to his famous charm.

Coolly practical, Lisa Peretti knows she won’t be in Jupiter Point for long. As an ER nurse in Houston, she helped a friend escape a dangerous situation. Now she’s hiding out in the little town, determined to keep a low profile. The last thing she needs is attention, especially in the form of the tabloid-starring, actress-dating, too-sexy-for-his-own-good Finn Abrams.

Still, Lisa can’t resist someone who needs her help. As long as she can keep her distance, working with the local hero as he recovers from his burns should be no problem, right?

Wrong. When danger follows Lisa to Jupiter Point, she’s startled to find Finn ready, willing, and more than able to come to her rescue. Add to that a meddling movie crew, some kindhearted locals, and her own unruly heart, and Lisa quickly loses any shot at keeping her feelings under cover.

Fire season in Jupiter Point is always smokin’ hot…but this time it’s going to be Setting Off Sparks.

My Thoughts

Fans of Jennifer Bernard’s Jupiter Point Series know that this series is full of HOT men and the women who make them sweat. I always wanted to know Finn’s story from book one, Set the Night on Fire. We learned a bit about Finn in each story, but with SETTING OFF SPARKS, we finally get his full story. I have to say I was surprised and delighted with SETTING OFF SPARKS. Not only is Finn’s full story something fans will adore, it’s heartrendingly touching. Add to that Lisa and her story….and well you get a book that will have you so eager to turn the page and yet dreading the final sentence. I loved how these two interacted, their reactions were realistic and completely believable. The heat between them doesn’t feel forced or faked in any way and makes you smile as you witness their romance. There are a couple of stories going on around Lisa and Finn. Finn’s back story, the reason he did what he did, and Lisa’s reasons for even being in Jupiter Point. Then you have the romance building between Lisa and Finn, and the movie that’s being filmed. It sounds like a lot of characters and stories but it all works so very well together that you forget it’s actually a book and feel like you are part of the story. I hated to see this story end. I so wanted to keep reading more about Lisa and Finn and the rest of Jupiter Point! Fans of Jennifer Bernard know that her stories always deliver fun, steam, a little suspense, and tons of great characters. If you are new to Jennifer Bernard and Jupiter Point, I think you are in for a HUGE treat. This story will melt your heart and leave you eager for more. I can’t wait to see what’s next in Jupiter Point it’s sure to be a scorcher!

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Steamy
View all my reviews

Featured post

THE MISADVENTURES OF LADY OPHELIA by Christina McKnight

The Misadventures of Lady Ophelia (The Undaunted Debutantes, #3)The Misadventures of Lady Ophelia by Christina McKnight

 

Genre: Historical romance

Series: The Undaunted Debutantes, #3

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: July 11, 2017
  • Publisher: La Loma Elite Publishing
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071QYX33R
  • Length: 258 pages

 

(Amazon)

Product Description

Quiet, reserved, Lady Ophelia Fletcher always has her nose stuck in a book; hence why she didn’t witness the death of her friend the fateful night of her passing. Now, she writes the Mayfair Confidential column to expose unsavory men as a way of making amends for not backing her other friend’s claims of murder. When a handsome stranger arrives to meet with her father, Ophelia is helpless to keep from investigating the dashing lord.

Colin Parnell, Lord Hawke, has a promise to uphold: find the book that proves his grandpapa worked as a spy for King George II and did not die as a no-good smuggler off the coast of Kent. Shrouded in mystery and scandal, the Parnell family has been at war with one another for decades, and Colin is determined to put a stop to it all by discovering proof of the family’s honorable past. Unfortunately, the book he seeks is in the hands of a fiery-haired beauty, and he’ll need to enlist Ophelia’s help to uncover the truth.

Ophelia is more than happy to use her skills to help Lord Hawke. But will their search for answers lead to misadventure, or will they get something greater than they bargained for: the truth and each other?

 

 

From the author:

Three innocent debutantes must work to solve the mysterious death of their childhood friend. With undaunted determination they pledge to not only expose the man responsible for their friend’s tragic death on her wedding night, but to also uncover other unscrupulous men of the ton who would jeopardize the future of other young women. 

 

 

My thoughts:

The Misadventures of Lady Ophelia (The Undaunted Debutantes Book 3) by Christina McKnight. Book 3 and the final book in “The Undaunted Debutantes” series. Final book of this amazing series. While, book 3, it can be read as a stand alone, however, I’d suggest reading the other two in this series, to learn more of the friends, but not necessary to enjoy Ophelia’s story.

Lady Ophelia Fletcher, is quiet, reserved, always has in a book in hand, which is why she didn’t witness the death of her friend. She now writes the Mayfair Confidential column, which exposes unsavory men, this is her way of making amends for not backing her other friend’s claims of murder. Guilt of not witnessing her friends death has driven her for years but can love safe her.

Colin Parnell, Lord Hawke, has a promised his grandpapa to find the book that proves his grandpapa worked as a spy for King George II and did not die as a smuggler off the coast of Kent. He wishes to re-claim his family’s honor, the scandal that surrounds them, and their good name. Will Colin and Ophelia find the true treasure, finding love and their HEA? Ophelia and Colin are wonderful characters and readers see Ophelia grow from a timid and reserved young lady to an outspoken lady, who speaks her mind.
The cast of characters are enjoyable, creative and realistic. Steady paced with a few twists and turns. The plot flows seamlessly and is written with detail to history, details of the area, with intrigue, danger, passion and adventure.
I hate to see this series come to an end, but all good things must.
Once again Ms. McKnight demonstrates her skills as an author. She never disappoints her readers. If you enjoy adventure, mystery, suspense, and intrigue, “The Misadventures of Lady Ophelia” is the right choice of reading material. A joy to read and strongly recommended.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR

A MARQUESS FOR CONVENIENCE by Bianca Blythe

A Marquess for Convenience (Matchmaking for Wallflowers Book 5)A Marquess for Convenience by Bianca Blythe

 

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Matchmaking for Wallflowers #5

Source: I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: July 20, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07448QCCN
  • Length: 200 pages

 

(Amazon)

Description

Lord Arthur Carmichael, Marquess of Bancroft, excels at everything, even cultivating a wild reputation to cover for the spy missions he undertakes for the Crown. Unfortunately now that he’s helped secure the peace, his roguish reputation is a hindrance to continuing in his career–unless he takes a wife.

Lady Madeline Mulbourne, the beautiful widow of a renowned art critic, is known for her pristine reputation. Who could make a more convenient bride? But when jewels disappear at balls she’s attended, Arthur suspects she might not be nearly as prim and proper as she appears.

 

 

My thoughts:

 

A Marquess for Convenience (Matchmaking for Wallflowers Book 5) by Bianca Blythe is a sweet, heartwarming story of a jewel thief, a bluestocking, romance and love. While, each book is a stand alone, I’d suggest reading the previous books in the WALLFLOWERS series, but not necessary to enjoy this story.

Lord Arthur Carmichael, Marquess of Bancroft, is a spy for the Crown. Lady Mulbourne, is a jewel thief not by choice but by necessity. Set against the French Riviera as a backdrop, second chances, danger and romance follows this couple on an adventure of hope, forgiveness, healing and a chance of an HEA.

Steady paced with an enjoyable cast of characters. A plot that flows seamlessly and effortlessly, readers will be transfixed by this sweet story. I enjoyed watching the characters come to grips with their passion, their love for each other and watching the story unfold.
Once again Ms. Blythe has written a story readers will thoroughly enjoy as they watch the characters grow. Ms. Blythe writes with compassion, emotions and her research shines through the pages of her story. Another great read!
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

HUNT FOR EVIL by Amy Jarecki

Hunt for Evil (ICE #1)Hunt for Evil by Amy Jarecki

 

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Series: Ice #1

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: August 1, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071JS2JST

 

(from Amazon)

Description

Meeting her will change his life…And she has no idea how much she needs the SEAL to change hers.

When Navy SEAL Commander Logan Rodgers winds up on a botched mission in the Gulf of Oman, his quick action in saving MI6 asset, Olivia Hamilton, brings him to the attention of the international espionage arena.

Recruited by the mysterious and elite International Clandestine Enterprise (ICE), Logan faces Olivia again, but this time they’re on the same team. Sparks fly as the two compete in a clash between skill and keen intellect, until a French girl is kidnapped by a suspected terrorist.

Posing a married couple, steam erupts between the pair while Logan and Olivia dive deeper into an ISIS kidnapping ring. But when Olivia becomes the kidnapper’s next victim, she enters a madman’s hell. And as Logan races against time to save her, one thing ravages his soul. If he fails, the woman he loves will be lost to him forever.

 

Available for pre-order, for only 99 pennies! Order your copy today!

 

 

My thoughts:

Hunt for Evil by Amy Jarecki is #1 in her new series, “ICE”. While, Ms. Jarecki is known for award winning Historical Scottish Romance, she just proved herself to me, as a Romantic Suspense author, as well.

HUNT FOR EVIL is definitely one of those WOW stories. I was completely blown away by the cast of characters, the plot, and her descriptions. Very talented indeed!

Fast paced, action packed tale of an international group of retired Navy SEALs, and MI6 agents who battle terriorists, and evil in the world. A very elite International Clandestine Enterprise known as ICE.

Navy SEAL Commander Logan Rodgers and Olivia Hamilton, an MI6 assets find themselves in a world of danger, passion, an ISIS kidnapping ring, a madman’s hell, love and a battle of survival. I was glued to the pages from the first page and it gripped my attention through the entire story. Never a dull moment! The storyline flows seamlessly and effortlessly. Tissues are needed. Do note, there is violence, romance and love contained in this exciting first ICE series.

If you are looking for an action packed with never a dull moment story, then HUNT FOR EVIL, is your next Romantic Suspense read! My hat goes off to Amy Jarecki! Very impressive, indeed! I look forward to the next ICE adventure. I look forward to BODY SHOT, book 2 coming soon.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

KYLA by Keira Montclair

Kyla (The Highland Clan Book 9)Kyla by Keira Montclair
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

Genre: Scottish Romance

Series: The Highland Clan, #9

Source: I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: July 8, 2017
  • Publisher: Keira Montclair
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B073TL1T7D
  • Length: 214 pages

 

 

 

Description (From Amazon)

Read the next in the family saga of the historical Scottish Grant and Ramsay clans.

She convinces her brother’s best friend to help her stop a war. But will they provoke one instead?

Kyla Grant once believed her sire, the legendary Alexander Grant, was invincible, but his brush with death changed her mind. The whole clan is still reeling from Alex’s battle injury when a new threat arises from their long-time rivals, the Buchan clan. Kyla, convinced that the Grants cannot take another battle, is desperate for a peaceful resolution. Her plan is to make a personal appeal to the Buchan’s only living child, Davina, but she knows her parents would never allow her to risk her safety…

Finlay MacNicol is always quick with a joke, but life has never given him less to laugh about. His mother is dying, and yet another battle is on the horizon. When his laird assembles a group of warriors for a scouting mission to the Buchans, Finlay does his duty and joins them. He thought he knew what to expect from the mission, but he certainly didn’t expect that Kyla would sneak along, or that his laird would assign him as her protector. Kyla’s beauty has always affected Finlay, but her bravery and sweetness soon stir deeper feelings.

After visiting Davina, Kyla becomes determined to rescue the lass from the clutches of her abusive sire. Finlay agrees to help her, but there’s a risk they may provoke a war rather than prevent one.

 

 

Now available! 

 

 

My thoughts:

Kyla by Keira Montclair is one of those WOW stories. While, book 9 in her popular “The Highland Clan”, it can be read as a stand alone.

I was enticed and enthralled with Kyla Grant and Finlay MacNicol’s story. Well written, fast paced with an enjoyable and captivating cast of characters, both good and evil. The storyline flows seamlessly with intrigue, a bit of mystery and suspense, that will keep the reader on the edge of their seat. The plot is intriguing and captivating.
I was glued to the pages of Kyla and Finlay’s trust, and their love of each other and their clan. Kyla has such a tender heart, she gets herself and Finlay in a world of trouble when she tries to help her new friend, Davina, the daughter of Clan Grant and Clan Ramsey’s worst enemy, Buchan Clan.
My heart broke for Finlay and Kyla as they try to survive their ordeal with the horrible Glenn Buchan, his creed, his thirst for revenge and his desire to be a powerful chieftain.

The reader will found themselves thoughly invested in “Kyla”, from the romance to the intense suspense to the fighting and more. I absolutely love Kyla, Finlay, and the next generation of Grants and Ramsey’s. Such a fresh story with refreshing characters. I look forward to the next story in “The Highland Clan” family saga, which promises to be Bethia Ramsay’s story. The author gives readers a bit of insight into her story through the epilogue.
Keira Monclair is an amazing storyteller with her characters, her vivid descriptions and her knowledge of Scottish clans, family sagas, romance and passion. Simply mesmerizing! ! A keeper and true treasure of Scottish Romance. Another hit by Keira Montclair.
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

WHERE THE VISCOUNT MET HIS MATCH by Tabetha Waite

Where the Viscount Met His Match (Ways of Love Book 2)Where the Viscount Met His Match by Tabetha Waite

 

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Ways of Love, #2

Source: Received a complimentary vopy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: June 14, 2017
  • Publisher: Etopia Press
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B072KPQVMH
  • Length: 380 pages

 

(From Amazon)

Description

Secrets. Lies. And a second chance at love…

Torn from the only man she’d ever loved by a tragic secret, Mara Miller has traveled a long and difficult road. From poverty and the workhouses, she’s finally made a life for herself as the owner of a small haberdashery in London. With her companion, Big B, an African slave she’d helped escape from a Brazilian slaver, she’s made a fresh start. But when the past walks into her shop—in the form of the ever-handsome Roarke Garrott, Viscount Eversleigh—Mara feels her whole world crash to her feet. Thrust back into a web of lies, deceit, and manipulation, Mara is forced to face the one man she’d sworn to forget.

For the past seven years, Roarke had sequestered himself in India to mourn Mara’s death. Vowing to move on and put the past behind him, he returns to London, only to find himself gazing into those beautiful green eyes he believed he’d never see again. Now he’s found her—alive and trying to deny who she was. A million feelings wash over him. Joy. Fury. Heartbreak. He would have the truth from her—of where she’d gone, and why—but when trouble from the past finds Mara and Big B, the truth becomes secondary to saving Mara’s life. After just learning that the woman he’d loved is alive, Roarke is not about to lose her again…

 

Book 1, WHY THE EARL WANTS THE GIRL

*Join her mailing list for monthly updates at authortabethawaite.wix.com/romance and connect with her on Goodreads!*

 

Pick up your copy today!!

 

My thoughts:

Where the Viscount Met His Match (Ways of Love Book 2) by Tabetha Waite is a Regency Romance by this amazing and masterful author. While, book 2, it can be read as a stand alone.
I absolutely love Mara Miller, which we met in book 1, and Roarke Garrott, Viscount Eversleigh, the love of Mara’s life, but she lost him several years prior due to a tragic event that forced Mara to fake her own death. A story filled with a web of lies, deceit, manipulation, sacrifice and so much more. Now, he’s walked back into her life. I found these characters to be tortured souls, torn apart by a huge secret then thrust back together again, by unseen circumstances, to be heart a wrenching, engaging and very enjoyable read. The secondary characters are enjoyable and help move the story along. The plot is intriguing, very interesting and captivating. The storyline flows seamlessly and is well executed, in my humble opinion.

A story of love, grief, secrets, a tragic kidnapping, deceit, mental illness and second chances at finding a HEA. The twists and turns were magnificent and well done to deliver a most fantastic Regency Romance. A bit of mystery, suspense and the romance, was absolutely enticing and delightful to read.
Ms. Waite, captured my attention and held me glued to the pages of this gripping and brilliantly written story.

This is Ms. Waite’s second novel but she writes like a master, fully engaging her readers with characterizations, her descriptions, her detail to research, and the Era she’s writing. Just stunning and very well written! Fast paced with page turning mystery and suspense. The romance to me was wonderful, seeming realistic and believable.

A powerful, yet sweet romance with twists and turns. I look forward to reading more, in this fascinating series!
WHERE THE VISCOUNT MET HIS MATCH ends with the reader learning some of Roarke’s sister’s story, which just made me want more. A must read Regency Romance by an upcoming and rising author, Tabetha Waite! A definite keeper. I can see me reading this story and book 1, over again. A true treasure! Well done, Tabetha Waite! !
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

SHADOW OF THE RAVEN by Millie Thom

Shadow of the Raven: Sons of Kings: Book OneShadow of the Raven: Sons of Kings: Book One by Millie Thom

 

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Sons of Kings #1

Source: I received a  complimentary copy, however,  all opinions are my own.

 

 

  • Publication date: May 27, 2015
  • Publisher: Millie Thom
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00YFPOIMW
  • Length: 439 pages

 

 

(Courtsey of Amazon)

Description

Thunder claps roar and Odin’s ravens fly. Fearsome dragonships set sail – and the kingdoms of Western Europe hold their breath. Warriors of Thor are on the move. By the mid-ninth century, raids along Anglo-Saxon coasts by the pagan Danes have escalated, and as the raiders become bolder, attacks move deeper and deeper inland. Several bands even dare to overwinter on the coastal islands, particularly those at the mouth of the Thames, where the kingdoms of Wessex and Mercia border each other. After three hundred years of bitter conflict over supremacy, the kings of these kingdoms are ready to put past enmity aside and take the first steps towards unity; steps they see as vital in the face of this newfound threat to their lands . . . Alfred of Wessex and Eadwulf of Mercia are the sons of kings, their roles in life already charted. But the turbulent events in their childhood years change the natural progression of things – and determine the characters of the men they will become. Their roads to manhood follow vastly different routes: Eadwulf as a thrall in a pagan land; Alfred at his father’s court, and subsequently, those of his older brothers. But both learn crucial lessons along the way. Discovering that the enemy is not always a stranger is a harsh lesson indeed; the realisation that a trusted kinsman can turn traitor is the harshest lesson of all. The story takes us from the kingdoms of Mercia and Wessex to the Norse lands stretching north from Denmark to the Arctic Circle and east to the Baltic Sea. We glimpse the Court of Charles the Bald of West Francia and journey to the holy city of Rome. Through it all, the two boys move ever closer to their destinies.

 

 

Now available! 

 

My thoughts:

Shadow of the Raven (Sons of Kings Book 1) by Millie Thom. A very complex and captivating tale with many facets.
The cast of characters are enjoyable and intriguing. The storyline flowed seamlessly and was well executed, in my opinion. The plot was interesting as well as intriguing.
Ms. Thom did an excellent job of conveying her message to her readers, with her descriptions, her characterizations, and her in depth information. Her research totally shines through in this story of romance, love and turmoil. I did feel it ended a bit abruptly. No cliffhanger, but a need to read the next one. An enjoyable read! I look forward to her next release in this fantastic series. Strongly recommended.
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 4
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

THE KNIGHT’S SCARRED MAIDEN by Nicole Locke

The Knight's Scarred Maiden (Lovers and Legends #5)The Knight’s Scarred Maiden by Nicole Locke

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Legends and Lovers #5

Source: I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: August 1, 2017
  • Publisher: Harlequin Historical
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01NBSW0I5
  • Length: 288 pages

 

 

(Courtesy of Amazon)

Product Description

A maiden for the mercenary 

Mercenary knight Rhain is living on borrowed time. With a vengeful warlord pursuing him, he has accepted his fate—though first he must get his men to safety.

When he rescues mysterious and deeply scarred Helissent from her attackers, Rhain soon wishes he wasn’t marked for death. He can never be the man she deserves—his scandalous lineage alone dictates that—but Rhain can’t resist the temptation to show this innocent maiden how beautiful she truly is…

Lovers and Legends A clash of Celtic passions

 

Pre-order available now! Releases August 1, 2017!

 

My thoughts:

The Knight’s Scarred Maiden (Lovers and Legends) by Nicole Locke is a superb Medieval Historical Romance. While, #5 in her “Lovers and Legends” series, it can be read as a stand alone. This is one of those WOW stories, that grabs you and won’t let go. It lingers long after the last page.

Rhain, mercenary knight, is being chased by a vengeful warload, who has marked him for death. Helissent, is a mysterious and deeply scarred lady. Rhain rescues her from would be attackers. But who rescues whom, the scarred lady from her mercenary knight’s inner tormoil and his linage, or the gentle mercenary from his lady’s outward appearance,from her tragic past.

This story is a tale of beauty and the beast reversed. The hero has the beauty and the heroine is considered the beast, due to her multiple scars. A tale that will capture your heart and hold the reader in awe.

Well written, with enjoyable, engaging and likeable characters. The storyline flows seemingly and is well executed. The plot is intriguing and captivating.

Filled with grief, hurt, lost, faith and the magical power of love and acceptance. An emotional and heart wrenching tale.
Ms. Locke has written a story that will intrigue as well as captivate the reader.
A keeper and a must read. Highly recommended!
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

A DIAMOND FOR A DUKE by Collette Cameron

A Diamond for a DukeA Diamond for a Duke by Collette Cameron

 

Genre: Regency Romance

Source: I received a complimentary copy. All opinions are my own.

 

(Courtesy of Goodreads)

A dour duke and a wistful wallflower—an impossible match until fate intervenes one enchanted night.

A dour duke.
Jules, the Sixth Duke of Dandridge disdains Society and all its trappings, preferring the country’s solitude and peace. Already jaded and cynical since the woman he loved died years ago, he’s become even more so since unexpectedly inheriting a dukedom’s responsibilities and finding himself the target of every husband-hunting vixen in London.

A wistful wallflower.
Forever in her stunning sister’s shadow, Jemmah Dament has adored Jules from afar for years—since as children they were the best of friends. She daren’t dream she can win a duke’s heart any more than she hopes to escape the life of servitude imposed on her by an uncaring mother. Jemmah knows full well, Jules is too far above her station. Besides, his family has already selected his perfect duchess: a poised, polished, exquisite blueblood.

But one enchanted night.
A chance encounter reunites Jules and Jemmah, resulting in a passionate interlude neither can forget. Jules realizes he wants more—much more—than Jemmah’s sweet kisses or her warming his bed. He must somehow convince her to gamble on a dour duke. But can Jemmah trust a rogue promised to another? One who’s sworn never to love again?

Caution: This Historical Regency Romance contains a duke who literally thumbs his nose at society, a sweet and intelligent wallflower with a secret dream, a villainess worthy of a fairy tale, and two delightful match-making dowagers.

Buy this book for an emotional, entertaining, and romantic fairy-tale meets Regency world adventure you won’t want to put down.

 

Coming July 24, 2017!

 

 

My thoughts:

A Diamond for a Duke by Collette Cameron is a delightful Regency Romance. A novella based loosely on Jean Perreault’s classic fairytale, “Toads and Diamonds”. This is a sweet romance with plenty of humor to satifisy your funny bone. The cast of characters are enjoyable and charming. You can’t help but fall in love Jules and Jemmah. The storyline flows seemingly and was well executed. The plot, while, serious, (mental abuse), there are laugh out loud moments.
Once again, Collette Cameron has written another hit, that will keep you glued to the pages as you follow Jemmah and Jules on their journey of a lifetime, as they find their way to a HEA.
Another keeper and and must read!
I received a complimentary copy. All opinions are my own.

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR

SUMMER’S REIGN by Elizabeth Rose

Summer's Reign (Seasons of Fortitude Book 2)Summer’s Reign by Elizabeth Rose

 

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Seasons of Fortutude, #2

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: July 6, 2017
  • Publisher: RoseScribe Media Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071VP35MS
  • Length: 296 pages

 

(Courses of Amazon)

 

Product Description

Book 2

At a young age, Summer has sacrificed herself for the sake of her family by marrying the evil and abusive Baron Mowbray of Suffolk. A few years after birthing him a son, the baron mysteriously dies, leaving her toddler heir to his estate. The king grants Summer one month to find and marry a man of her choice. But Summer would never consider marrying any relative of her late husband, especially not his domineering nephew.

Sir Warren Mowbray returns from battle to find his uncle has died and with him went the man’s promise that Warren would inherit his holdings. Now, to add insult to injury, the king has assigned him as the widow’s guardian and advisor while she chooses a husband. Once he arrives at the castle, he discovers Summer is a beautiful, smart, determined woman but with a mind of her own. He plans to woo her, but she wants nothing to do with him. He also has his suspicions that the hated baron might have been murdered – and Summer is the main suspect.

Can a strong, determined woman and a controlling warrior find love between them or will they destroy each other first?

Watch for Autumn’s Touch – Book 3, and Winter’s Flame – Book 4 coming soon! And if you haven’t already read it, be sure to read Highland Spring – Book 1 as well!

From the Author

Watch for the entire Seasons of Fortitude Series coming soon.

Highland Spring – Book 1 
Summer’s Reign – Book 2 
Autumn’s Touch – Book 3 – (Preorder now)
Winter’s Flame – Book 4 – (soon)
Also be sure to read the Legendary Bastards of the Crown Series:
Destiny’s Kiss – Prequel
Restless Sea Lord – Book 1
Ruthless Knight – Book 2
Reckless Highlander – Book 3

 

 

Pick up your copy today for only 99 cents! AUTUMN’S TOUCH is on pre-order for only 99 pennies, as well!!

 

My thoughts:

Summer’s Reign by Elizabeth Rose is a wonderful Historical Romance. While, #2
in her amazinf “Seasons of Fortitude” series, it can be read as a stand along. See, book 1, “Highland Spring”.

Summer has sacrificed herself for the sake of her family when she marries the evil and abusive Baron Mowbray of Suffolk. She has a small son, finally, has had several miscarriages, a stillborn and still her evil husband, is not satisfied. After the last stillborn, he’s furious, so he plans to kill her, but he mysteriously dies instead. Of course, Summer is under suspicion. …enter her family to help, the “Bastards of the Crown” triplets and a young Knight to her rescue.

Sir Warren Mowbray, her late husband’s nephrew, when he’s called from battle by the King, he finds his uncle has died and with him went the man’s promise that Warren would inherit his holdings. The King gives Summer thirty days to find a new husband, or he will choose her for her. Love or duty! At first, she doesn’t trust nor like Warren, aka War, but as their love blossoms so as does the mystery of Summer’s late husband. He was more evil then she even knew.

Well written, with enjoyable characters, who will capture her heart. Summer suffered so much for her family, more than they were even aware. The story flowed seemingly and was well executed, in my humble opinion. The plot was interesting and intriguing, with a bit of mystery, some twists and turns, passion and finding a HEA. I so wanted Summer to find her HEA.

Once again, Elizabeth Rose, has brought her readers an intense story, were it begins tragically, but comes full circle by the end. I was surprised to learn what truly happened to Summer’s husband and why. “Summer’s Reign” will capture your heart as you watch her grow and find her HEA. Another great read by one of my favorite Historical Romance authors. I can hardly wait for “Autumns’ Touch”, coming soon. Fantastic read, beautifully written and masterfully executed! Well done, Ms. Rose!!

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

For your reading pleasure, here’s a list of the “Seasons of Fortitude” titles.

“Highland Spring – Book 1
Summer’s Reign – Book 2
Autumn’s Touch – Book 3 – (Preorder now)
Winter’s Flame – Book 4 – (soon)

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑