Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

TOTALLY HIS By Erin Nicholas

Totally His (Opposites Attract #3)Totally His by

Erin Nicholas

Mass Market Paperback, 352 pages

Expected publication: October 31st 2017 by Forever
ISBN: 1455539724 (ISBN13: 9781455539727)

 

From Goodreads:

Actress Sophie Birch is used to having to look out for herself. So when her theater catches fire and a big guy scoops her up into his arms to save her, she’s going to fight every step of the way. Even if he’s a cop. And really sexy. And his arms feel oh-so-good.

Finn Kelly can’t help but appreciate how good the woman in his arms looks in her sexy pink lingerie. Even if she’s currently resisting arrest.

But as the two get to know each other, they’re both surprised by the things Finn is willing to do to get closer to her. And when Sophie’s estranged father arrives in town and starts causing trouble, the stage is set for disaster…unless Finn can convince her that, for once in her life, she has someone to lean on.

My Thoughts

This is book 3 in the Opposites Attract series from author Erin Nicholas. I haven’t read the previous two titles but certainly will after reading this great book. I loved Sophie and Finn! Their interactions are funny, engaging and HOT. Add in the sweetness that Finn and his family brings to the story and TOTALLY HIS is an outstanding romance story that’s full of family, love, and learning to let people be who they are. I absolutely loved the heat that Finn and Sophie share, but more than that I loved fact that it wasn’t just a story about two people it was a story about family, even the imperfect ones. Watching Sophie find her place to belong within a big family but also understand that hers wasn’t perfect but it still meant something. Fans of big families, hot romances, and great realistic imperfect characters will adore Totally His. I have to warn that once you find Erin Niholas’s stories you’ll be eager to read all of her books. I can’t wait to go back and read the first two! Highly Recommended!!!!

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Mild

Source: Netgalley review book

View all my reviews

Advertisements

GAME ON by Becky Komant

Game onGAME ON

Author: Becky Komant

http://www.beckykomant.com

Publisher: Bk Press

 

Publication Date:  Sept. 8 2017

ISBN-10: 0991811526

ISBN-13: 978-0991811526

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Source: Received for an honest review

Book Description (from Amazon)

 

GAME ON! For nearly two decades, Sarah Ruiz’s ex-husband has controlled her. But no more! With Alex finally behind bars, Sarah is ready to put her dreams first. However, her safety and security are short-lived and she finds herself twisted in a web of lies even more complex than she could have guessed. To find the truth and protect her children, Sarah must step into a world where the game played is one of life and death. It’s no longer about control, it’s about survival. From the author of The Controlled, Game On! continues the story of Sarah Ruiz, a fitness model and mother of five whose battles with her manipulative ex-husband will leave you turning the pages to find out who wins the game.

Your thoughts

GAME ON is the long awaited sequel to THE CONTROLLED. It continues on where THE CONTROLLED left off. Sarah was sitting wondering if Christian would soon show up or if she would finish off her vacation alone. She truly did miss Christian and knew her ex-husband had caused the breakup. With Alex in prison, things should turn around and she will be able to resume her life; free from Alex and his controlling ways.

However, to Sarah’s surprise when she return, who was awaiting for her at the airport? Shocked and afraid all Sarah could do was follow Alex’s instructions. She had no clue what was going on or how he managed to get out of prison. Sarah new she had the separation papers and the restraining order and would use that to her advantage. The only problem…somehow they went missing. How was Sarah ever going to gain control of her own life?

Once again, Ms. Komant has blown me out of the water. I actually had to put this book down or would have stayed up all night to finish it off. There are definitely twists in there that I did not see coming. The best part was that it was not predictable like most novels. I actually thought at one point there might be some plastic surgery/disguise! The character development was very well put together and the storyline flowed very smoothly for being 32 chapters long. There are not too many authors out there that have such a profound effect on me. I was lost in the book. It felt like I was there living with Sarah and going through everything with her. It is best to read both books, however you could read each on their own, but it might be a bit confusing.  It is my hope that this is not the last book from Becky as she is a fantastic writer one that I would follow. Definitely a must read.

Rating: 4.5

Heat Rating: Mild

Reviewed by: KellyR

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

 

HIGHLAND FLAME by Mary Wine

Highland Flame (Highland Weddings, #4)Highland Flame by Mary Wine

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Highland Weddings, #4

Source: I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: September 5, 2017
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MYDPYA9
  • Length: 322 pages

 

Product Description (Amazon)

NEWLY MINTED LAIRD SEEKS WIFE, PREFERABLY RICH

Laird Diocail Gordon has just inherited his uncle’s run down castle and rag-tag clan. He knows the sorry sight of the castle would send any woman running, but is determined to find a wife to help return his home to its former glory.

Widowed lady Jane Stanley is determined to return to England, even if she has to tromp through the Scottish Highlands on foot to get there. Her travels lead her straight into the midst of a troop of dangerous Highland warriors. The mysterious, brawny laird forbids his men to harm her, and the spark between them is immediate. The only way Diocail can keep her safe is to take her home with him, but will the miserable state of his clan douse her newly ignited Highland flame?

Highland Weddings Series:
Highland Spitfire (Book 1)
Highland Vixen (Book 2)
Highland Hellion (Book 3)
Highland Flame (Book 4)

 

Now available for pre order in both print and digital! 

 

 

My thoughts: 

Highland Flame by Mary Wine is another fabulous Highland Romance. #4 in her exciting “Highland Weddings” series, but it can be read as a stand alone.

Laird Diocail Gordon just inherited uncle’s run down castle and the rag-tag Gordon clan. He is anot impressive warrior but, can he prove himself capable of being a good laird, not just a good warrior, and will he be able help his clan prosper and re-build. Lady Jane Stanley, a widow, who is determined to return to England, at all cost, including tromping, on foot, in the cold, wild Scottish Highlands. Nearly , frozen and hungry, she comes into the midst of a troop of dangerous Highland warriors. And thus this captivating tale begins…..well there is more to it than that, but I don’t wish to give anything away….

Well written Scottish Romance with captivating, interesting and entertaining characters. The plot flows seamlessly and is well excuted. I loved “Highland Flame”! Put the feisty, determined,red-haired, beauty, Jane with the myterious, no non-sense, handsome, Diocail and sparks fly off the pages.

Ms. Wine definitely brings forth a story rich in history, Highland traditions, and one that captives as well as, keeps you glued to the pages of a fast paced tale of love, passion, treachery and determination. Mesmerizing! ! Another well done, Highland Romance by Mary Wine. Never a dull moment for sure!
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Highland Weddings Series:

Highland Spitfire (Book 1)
Highland Vixen (Book 2)
Highland Hellion (Book 3)
Highland Flame (Book 4)

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

HIGHLAND HOGMANAY by Em Taylor

Highland HogmanayHighland Hogmanay by Em Taylor

 

Genre: Comtemporary Romance

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: July 24, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07483Q246
  • Length: 75 pages

 

Description (Amazon)

The week between Christmas and New Year is always dreary and for single mum of two small children, Isla, it’s doubly so. A toddler throwing a tantrum and an over-inquisitive four year old are stressing her out. The broken carrier bag spilling her shopping out in the wet street is the final straw. But handsome Mark Ferguson turns up out of the blue to help her.

The New Year may be looking up, until she finds out that Mark owns one of the biggest computing firms in the USA. Can they make a long distance relationship work and can Mark stop trying to make their relationship into a business venture?

This book contains scenes that are not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.

 

 

 

Pick up your copy today for 99 cents!

 

 

My thoughts:

Highland Hogmanay by Em Taylor is a sexy, Contemporary Romance set on the small island of Kilrigh, Scotland. #3 in the “Kilrigh Heat” series, while, it can be read as a stand alone, I’d recommend reading “Highland Fling” and “Highland Haven”.
Isla, is a single mom with two small children, a four year old and a toddler, temper tantrums and over-inquisitiveness, makes her world turn, sometimes anyway, some of us totally understood.
Mark Ferguson, to the rescue or is he. When Isla learns Mark is the owner of one of the biggest computing firms in the USA, can she make their budding relationship work for them or will she give up on her new found romance?
I think, “Highland Hogmanay”, is my favorite of this series. I love little children in a story, they make things interesting. Hogmanay in Scotland, is the week between Christmas and New Year.
Another well written, quick read by Em Taylor, with entertaining and interesting characters. A fun, sexy, Highland adventure with a fantasy or two throw into the mix. A definite romantic adventure! Beautifully written and well excuted. Another great read by Em Taylor.

From the author: **This book contains scenes that are not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.**

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild with some heat involved
Reviewed by: AprilR

HIGHLAND HAVEN by Em Taylor

Highland HavenHighland Haven by Em Taylor

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Series: Kilrigh Heat, #2

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: March 8, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XHKZ619
  • Length: 125 pages

 

Description: From Amazon 

When Erin Murray decides to escape her past in Glasgow, she picks the small island of Kilrigh as her haven. Arriving at her new home, she’s alone and scared, but is welcomed by the overly cheerful laird’s son. But the tall, dark and sexy Finlay must earn her trust–something she’s not willing to give easily.

Erin begins to let the walls of her heart come down, only for her past to darken Kilrigh. Can Finlay keep her world from falling apart and can their budding relationship survive this threat?

 

 

Pick up your copy today for on 99 cents @Amazon!!

 

 

My thoughts:

Highland Haven (Kilrigh Heat Series Book 2) by Em Taylor is a delightful Romance. The “Kilrigh Heat” series continues with “Highland Haven”. See, “Highland Fling”. Set on a small island in Scotland, Kilrigh.

Erin Murray, is trying to escape her past in Glasgow, so she settles on the small island of Kilrigh. She’s alone and scared, but is soon welcomed by the laird’s son, Finlay. Finlay just happens to be tall, dark, sexy and cheerful. Their chemistry is flies off the pages, the reader can almost feel the sparks, coming off the pages, between Finlay and Erin. Erin is not easy to trust, especially after her abusive ex-boyfriend.

Well written with engaging characters. The plot is a sweet love story, with some trust issues, the past returning unexpectedly, a bit of danger, lots of sparks, and a few twists and turns. A lovely story of learning to trust and finding love amongst the darkness of your past. Beautifully written and excuted.

I have enjoyed this series by Em Taylor and look forward to reading more from her. She draws the reader into the story and captures their heart. A quick read, to me, anyway. I read it in one afternoon. A delightful love story you don’t wish to miss from the fabulous Em Taylor.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating:Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

THE STABLEMASTER’S DAUGHTER by Barbara Devlin

The Stablemaster's Daughter (Regency Rendezvous Book 10)The Stablemaster’s Daughter by Barbara Devlin

 

Genre: Regency Romance

Series: Regency Rendezvous #10

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: July 30, 2017
  • Publisher: Scarsdale Publishing, Ltd
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B073XB33YQ
  • Length: 144 pages

Description  (Courtsey of Amazon)

A Regency Rendezvous Romance

In the game of hearts, love knows no social boundaries.

Eight years after she was sent to live with her aunt and uncle in Kent, Henrietta Katherine Graham, the daughter of the stablemaster for the Marquess of Ravenwood, returns to Garring Manor, older, wiser, and more beautiful than ever. Harboring an attachment for the second son, she looks forward to a sweet reunion and is thrilled when her beau resumes their relationship, without hesitation, and proposes marriage, but her father opposes the match, due to what he refers to as her low birth. Will Henrietta defy her father and societal dictates to follow her heart?

Lord Ernest Cornelius Frederick Howe values society’s good opinion, but he is shunned after a failed attempt to seize the marquessate in his brother’s absence. When he retires to the family estate, he is shocked to find his childhood sweetheart in residence, and nothing can stop him from renewing their acquaintance. Determined to win his ladylove, he devises a scheme to redefine Henrietta as something she is not, to protect his future wife and satisfy the whims of the ton, but he risks losing his bride, in the process. Will Ernest flout society to claim the woman he loves?

The Regency Rendezvous Romances,  for your convenience:

 

The Devil of Montlaine
The Blue Drawing Room
The Archaeologist’s Daughter
Ice and Embers
The Elusive Lady Winston
Wreck and Ruin
The Earl’s Encounter
P.S. I Loathe You
Romancing the Rogue
The Enigma of a Spy
A Rake Like No Other

 

 

Available now! Pick up your copy today!

 

 

My thoughts:

The Stablemaster’s Daughter (Regency Rendezvous Book 10) by Barbara Devin is a delightful love story that transcends social classes, a stablemaster’s daughter and the second son of the
Marquess of Ravenwood. It can be read as a stand alone.
This is the journey of Henrietta Katherine Graham and Lord Ernest Cornelius Frederick Howe. And what a journey to fulfill their childhood love as just mere children, an eight separation and a happy reunion. While you can’t call this story a second chance story, it really is, their love went from a childhood love to an adult love. Fantastic!

A quick read to me, with endearing and engaging cast of characters. I did not feel I missed anything nor did it feel rushed. I enjoyed the plot, which seemed effortlessly written, was very interesting and steady paced. Henrietta and Ernest’s story will definitely capture your heart. With the help of family and friends they are determined to prove that a stablemaster’s daughter and a Lord can make a powerful and compelling couple.

Ms. Devlin writes a story of romance, love, devotion, secrets, abuse by a parent, passion, healing, and is infused with acceptance from the ton and finding a HEA that will certainly have you holding your breath, as Henrietta and Ernest find their place in society. I absolutely loved “The Stablemaster’s Daughter” story. A page turner, that came full circle!

“The Regency Rendezvous” series is proving to be a fantastic series. Well done, Ms. Devlin!

Regency Rendezvous series:

The Devil of Montlaine
The Blue Drawing Room
The Archaeologist’s Daughter
Ice and Embers
The Elusive Lady Winston
Wreck and Ruin
The Earl’s Encounter
P.S. I Loathe You
Romancing the Rogue
The Enigma of a Spy
A Rake Like No Other

 

Rating: 4.5
Heat raring: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

JULIA AND THE DUKE by Samantha Holt

Julia and the Duke (Bluestocking Brides Book 2)Julia and the Duke by Samantha Holt

Genre: Regency Romance

Series: Bluestocking Brides, #2

Source: Personal buy

 

116 pages
Published: August 9, 2017

 

 

DESCRIPTION  (From Goodreads)

 

“One of them might now be a viscountess but it does not clear the taint of scandal from those frightful Chadwick girls. Why we must deign to entertain them, I will never know!” Lady Bromsley, Countess of Marlbury.

A new duke moving into their sleepy village doesn’t interest Julia, especially when she hears all about his scandalous behavior in London. Rumors of gambling debts, illicit liaisons, and pub brawls surround the far-too-handsome Duke of Weston.

The far-too-handsome duke who happens to want to build a mill on her favorite nature spot, meaning Julia’s beloved otters will be homeless.

Not matter what she says, the stubborn man will not back down, but this bluestocking will not give up easily. With the help of her sisters, she must find a way to persuade him to make money another way.

If only the far-too-handsome duke did not seem to enjoy riling her so much. If only he would not insist on getting under her skin and pretending to be interested in her. All this talk of liking redheads and freckles will not make her forget those animals in need.

Will it?

 

My thoughts:

 

Julia and the Duke (Bluestocking Brides Book 2) by Samantha Holt is a delightful Regency Romance has so much to offer readers. While, book 2 in her simply wonderful “Bluestocking Brides” series, it can be read as a stand alone. This series is about the Chadwick sisters, not a traditional family of young ladies, their antics will have you smiling. See, “Amelia and the Viscount”, book 1.

This is the story of Guy, Duke of Weston and Lady Julia Chadwick. What a couple they make! They’ll like oil and water. Julia is determined to save the otters in the area. Her and her sisters antics had me in stitches. Guy is determined to make a life for his siblings and make the estate he inherited prosper for all.
A quick read filled with witty banter, wildly funny antics, romance and passion. I enjoyed watching Guy and Julia make their budding relationship blossom into the love of a lifetime.
Another great read by the talented Samantha Holt. I wait patiently for the next Chadwick sister’s adventure.
Ms. Holt is a talented author, one who pulls her readers into her character’s lives and captures their hearts. Another hit for Samantha Holt. A must read and a definite keeper!

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

Mail Order Bride: A Banker’s Wife (Mail Order Montana) (A Western Romance Book) by Leah Laurens

Mail Order Bride: A Banker's Wife (Mail Order Montana) (A Western Romance Book)Mail Order Bride: A Banker’s Wife (Mail Order Montana) by Leah Laurens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Genre: American Western Romance

Series: Mail Order Bride: A Banker’s Wife (Mail Order Montana) (A Western Romance Book)

Series: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: August 7, 2017
  • Publisher: TimWalker Books
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B074N5FKVS
  • Length: 330 pages

 

Product Description ( brought to you by Amazon)

Lying for love is never easy, but sometimes it’s necessary. 

.

Page Count: around 330 pages

The Ackermans are about to lose their farm…
They have no hope. No money. Nothing left to lose except each other. 

.

When Sarah discovers that her youngest sister, Carrie, is planning to become a mail order bride to save the family land, she makes the rash decision to take her place.

When Sarah arrives in Montana and meets John Bowman, she knows him and his children aren’t ready for her…especially when they learn about her scarred useless arm.
And… John hasn’t even told his children he’s getting remarried.

John’s temper is hard to control but not as hard Sarah’s brazen behavior.
She’s a mail order bride, yet she acts as if she has free reign of his house.

Sarah never expected to fall in love…not as a mail order bride.
It was just a contract. Nothing more.

However, there’s something about John that draws Sarah to him. 

.
But… if she tells John the truth, she’ll lose him forever.
And… if she says nothing, she’ll never be able to live with herself.Can Sarah fix this mess and still save her family’s farm, or is it already too late?

Page Count: around 330 pages

 

 

Pick up your copy today!

 

 

My thoughts:

Mail Order Bride: A Banker’s Wife (Mail Order Montana) (A Western Romance Book) by Leah Laurens is a delightful Western Romance, which has much to offer readers. Part of a series, but it can be read as a stand alone. It is set in Montana.

This is the story of Sarah Ackerman who arrives in Montana as a Mail Order Bride and has a useless scarred arm where she meets John Bowman, who is a widower, has a bit of a temper,  and two young children. You see Sarah arrives as her younger sister, Carrie, to marry John.

There are a few spots that felt a bit slow to me but picked nicely to bring a well paced tale filled with bank robbers, kidnappers, town gossips, a couple of busy bodies, and soiled doves.
The mystery, romance, and suspense will keep readers turning pages as their captivated by the strong willed characters and a plot that flows seamlesly and effortlessly.

A joy to read! An amazing Western Romance. A must read and a keeper.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR

 

LORD OF NIGHT by Erica Ridley

Lord of Night (Rogues to Riches, #3)Lord of Night by Erica Ridley

Genre: Regency Romance

Series: Rogues to Riches, #3

Source: Personal buy

  • Publication date: July 22, 2017
  • Publisher: WebMotion
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XV6SXCW
  • Length: 314 pages

 

Product Description (brought to you by Amazon)

Unlike proper debutantes, Miss Dahlia Grenville is secretly Robin Hood in a bonnet. Her home for wayward girls has too many dependents and not enough donations. But just as she’s about to pull off the heist of the Season, she tumbles straight into the arms of the handsome detective who has sworn to deliver Mayfair’s mysterious thief straight to the gallows.

Highly principled Bow Street runner Simon Spaulding’s world is black and white. There’s no mastermind too clever, no criminal alive who can escape the hangman. Until he realizes the delightful young lady he’s been courting is a liar and a thief. Suddenly, his career—and his heart—are in peril. How can he bring her to justice when it means losing her forever?

In the Rogues to Riches historical romance series, sigh-worthy Regency rogues sweep strong-willed young ladies into whirlwind romance with rollicking adventure.

  1. Lord of Chance
  2. Lord of Pleasure
  3. Lord of Night

 

 

Pick up your copy today! !

 

My thoughts: 

Lord of Night by Erica Ridley is book 3 in her exciting “Rogues to Riches” series, while book 3 it can be read as a stand alone.

This is the story of Dahlia Grenville and Simon Spaulding. Dahlia is the mysterious Mayfair thief, she is forced into thievery to keep her School of Wayward Girls afloat. Her patrons support has fallen off, and she knows no other way. Simon is a no nonsense, straight laced bow street runner, his fellow runners calls him the “Lone Wolf”, but Simon is determined to bring the mysterious Mayfair thief to justice and straight to the gallows.
Will Simon be able to bring Dahlia to justice, after all, they do have a budding, relationship? Or will Dahlia’s lies, secrets, and deceit end their budding relationship , possibly bringing their HEA to an end, after the truth is revealed? Will Simon forfeit his career for his heart and a HEA? You simply must pick up this satisfying Regency Romance to find out for yourselves.

“Lord of Night” is a remarkable story of love, secrets, trust, mystery and the possibility of a HEA. The cast of characters are interesting, engaging and charming, each in their own way, of course. I did wish to shake Dahlia a few times, but life has been hard for her, not that thievery is right, or anything. Simon is a no nonsense, by the book, bow street runner, and a protector. Together, they make a charming couple. I wondered how Ms. Ridley was going to bring their story to an end she did a remarkable job if bring their story to a satisfying end. A page turner and a keeper!

Erica Ridley has done it again, with this delightful Regency Romance! “Rogues to Riches” story, just keeps getting better and better. The story flows seamlessly and flawlessly. For a great story with amazing characters, pick up a copy of “Lord of Night”.
Erica Ridley writes stories that holds her readers captive, as they read her stories. A brilliant and talented storyteller, in my humble opinion.
Another must read and a keeper by Erica Ridley. Pick up your copy today!.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

For your convenience here’s the ROGUES TO RICHES titles, thus far”

1. Lord of Chance
2. Lord of Pleasure
3. Lord of Night

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑