Search

MyBookAddictionReviews

Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.

Leopard Rescue by Sara Starbuck~~~a review

leopard-rescue-3

Leopard Rescue
by Sara Starbuck

  • Age Range: 8 – 11 years
  • Grade Level: 2 – 6
  • Series: Born Free…Books
  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Barron’s Educational Series (April 1, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1438009887
  • ISBN-13: 978-1438009889

 

Keep wildlife in the wild! Support the Born Free charity and join Virginia McKenna and her team behind the scenes of a real life leopard rescue.

Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the true story of one of their incredible rescues . . .

Meet brave Leda, a dedicated mother leopard, and her shy twin daughters, Rhea and Roxanni. These are the Limassol leopards, a family who grew up behind bars in a cramped city zoo in Cyprus, far from their natural homeland. This is the inspiring true story of their rescue, a journey that led these remarkable creatures from hardship to hope, and to the eventual sanctuary of Born Free’s South African wildlife reserve.

Filled throughout with full-colour photographs and fascinating facts about how leopards live in the wild, this is an ideal book for young animal lovers.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed reading this book, as an animal lover this book was really good to read. These animals were treated unfairly and cruelly; but these animals were rescued and put in a better habitat. I would suggest this book if you want to learn about these animals or if you want to learn about how they were rescued and nursed back to life.

Reviewed by: jewelrymaker12

Rating: 5

No Heat rating as this is a children’s book

Advertisements

Afterburn by Amy Knupp~~~~a review

Afterburn (Island Fire Book 5)Afterburn by Amy Knupp

Island Fire Book 5

Publication Date: March 13, 2018

ASIN: B078ZL7LHS

 

Blurb from Amazon

Scott Pataki became an EMT to save lives, but ten years later, the stress of his job is slowly killing him. He’s counting the days till he can escape San Amaro Island to be a scuba instructor on a cruise ship. With a decade-old estrangement from his family and no ties outside the fire station, there’s nothing holding him back. But when his big move is only a month away, the half sister he never wanted to meet, and her bulldog advocate, Mercedes, crash into his life.

Mercedes Stone is a sucker for underdogs and lost souls. Though she’s drowning in responsibilities as her grandma’s caretaker, a social media expert, and a women’s shelter volunteer, she can’t help being pulled into the plight of a homeless pregnant teenager. She’ll do anything to help her, including lock horns with Scott, the troubled but tempting half brother the girl’s determined to bond with. It doesn’t take Mercedes long to see he’s not the heartless jerk he wants everyone to believe he is.

Scott feels his hardened heart softening bit by bit, but he fights it every step of the way, knowing he’s the dark cloud to Mercedes’ bright sunshine. Will he chase the calmness he craves or will he figure out the best way to weather any storm is together?

Afterburn is a stand-alone novel in the Island Fire series.

My Thoughts

I’ve struggle with what to say about this great story. This is a story about redemption, about finding a family, about love, about peace, about well overcoming…………The characters are well written, realistic, and engaging. The setting, an island off of Texas, will make you want to visit the Texas coast and find this island! The story is easy to read and follow, even though this is part of a series you can easily read it as a stand alone title. You will find yourself wanting to know more about the secondary characters and visit the island again so be prepared to want to read the previous titles. The story keeps you entertained and quickly turning pages, eager to know what’s coming next, and yes reluctant to reach the end. I highly recommend all fans of great characters, an outstanding love story, and writing that leaves you eager for you pick up a copy of AFTERBURN today. You will be so very glad you did!

Reviewed by: WendyK

Rating: 5

Heat Rating: Mild
View all my reviews

God Loves Me, My First Bible by Susan Elizabeth Beck~~~a review

God Loves Me, My First BibleGod Loves Me, My First Bible by Susan Elizabeth Beck

 

  • Age Range: 4 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool – 3
  • Board book: 34 pages
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz; Brdbk edition (September 5, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310759315
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310759317
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 1 x 7.2 inches

The children came to Jesus

Who hugged them in his arms.

He blessed them, and he said a prayer

To keep them from all harm.

It’s never too early for little ones and toddlers to learn that—“God loves me!”

The God Loves Me, My First Bible contains simple, rhyming verses about Bible characters and important lessons about God’s love for his children. Parents and children will enjoy reading each story that emphasizes the overriding theme of the Bible: God loves his world, his people, and me!

My Thoughts

 

God Loves Me, My First Bible is a cute first bible for young kids. This would be a cute gift for a new parent to read along with their child. The words are easy to understand and the stories are told in a rhyming manner which make it easy for young children to understand and enjoy. You need to understand that these are just quick short easy to read “poems” that tell only a short basic idea of several stories from the Bible. These are not meant to give a new reader the whole story only to give them a basic idea of what the story may be about. For a more detailed telling you will need to read from a Child’s Bible or an adult Bible. But to start a young child on the path to learning more I do think this would be a wonderful gift. The cover is very colorful with glittery images and a texture that is easy to feel. The illustrations are colorful and easy to understand without any gory or distasteful imagery for young eyes to see.

This is a well made board book with a puffy cover and each page is made of a sturdy construction and would be easy for little hands to turn and touch. I do think this would be an easy book for young readers handle and to clean up any messes made on them.

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Reviewed by: WendyK

Rating: 4

No Heat Rating

View all my reviews

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers by Susan Collins Thoms & Robert Dunn~~~~a review

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime PrayersMay the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers by Susan Collins Thoms

 

  • Age Range: 4 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool – 3
  • Board book: 30 pages
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz; Brdbk edition (September 26, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310758734
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310758730

 

A Mighty God

No comet moves as fast as God,

No star can blaze as bright.

No planet in the universe

Can match his awesome might.

 

God is the source of everything,

Creator of us all.

He made and blessed this whole wide world,

All creatures great and small.

May the Faith Be With You: Bedtime Prayers is filled with colorful, space-themed art and fifteen simple prayers for children to read with their parents at bedtime or anytime. This padded cover board book even glows in the dark!


My Thoughts

I received a copy of this book for my honest thoughts.
I have to say I have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand it is cute, it does make you think space and star wars and I can see how that would appeal to some. On the other hand it’s a bible I would pick up for my own children. I feel like it tries too hard to follow current “fads” and trends vs staying true to the word of God. Don’t get me wrong with each prayer there is a bible verse. But also images that speak of well space and space exploration. I can see this book appealing to young kids but I would temper it with helping them to understand what each bible verse means and exploring more of God’s word. It says it’s a Glow in the Dark book, I haven’t tried that yet but I will. It is a cute book if used the proper way and as an introduction to God’s word. I might would give it to young child who is struggling with understanding science and it’s place in learning God’s word. But I would NOT let this be the only young reader prayer book or board book they have.

The book seems to be well made and would be easy to clean off and care for. The book is a board book therefore you do not have pages that you will worry about tearing. The price IMHO is responsible for the quality of the product.

Reviewed by WendyK

Rating: 3

No Heat Rating

View all my reviews

TOTALLY HIS By Erin Nicholas

Totally His (Opposites Attract #3)Totally His by

Erin Nicholas

Mass Market Paperback, 352 pages

Expected publication: October 31st 2017 by Forever
ISBN: 1455539724 (ISBN13: 9781455539727)

 

From Goodreads:

Actress Sophie Birch is used to having to look out for herself. So when her theater catches fire and a big guy scoops her up into his arms to save her, she’s going to fight every step of the way. Even if he’s a cop. And really sexy. And his arms feel oh-so-good.

Finn Kelly can’t help but appreciate how good the woman in his arms looks in her sexy pink lingerie. Even if she’s currently resisting arrest.

But as the two get to know each other, they’re both surprised by the things Finn is willing to do to get closer to her. And when Sophie’s estranged father arrives in town and starts causing trouble, the stage is set for disaster…unless Finn can convince her that, for once in her life, she has someone to lean on.

My Thoughts

This is book 3 in the Opposites Attract series from author Erin Nicholas. I haven’t read the previous two titles but certainly will after reading this great book. I loved Sophie and Finn! Their interactions are funny, engaging and HOT. Add in the sweetness that Finn and his family brings to the story and TOTALLY HIS is an outstanding romance story that’s full of family, love, and learning to let people be who they are. I absolutely loved the heat that Finn and Sophie share, but more than that I loved fact that it wasn’t just a story about two people it was a story about family, even the imperfect ones. Watching Sophie find her place to belong within a big family but also understand that hers wasn’t perfect but it still meant something. Fans of big families, hot romances, and great realistic imperfect characters will adore Totally His. I have to warn that once you find Erin Niholas’s stories you’ll be eager to read all of her books. I can’t wait to go back and read the first two! Highly Recommended!!!!

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Heat Rating: Mild

Source: Netgalley review book

View all my reviews

GAME ON by Becky Komant

Game onGAME ON

Author: Becky Komant

http://www.beckykomant.com

Publisher: Bk Press

 

Publication Date:  Sept. 8 2017

ISBN-10: 0991811526

ISBN-13: 978-0991811526

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Source: Received for an honest review

Book Description (from Amazon)

 

GAME ON! For nearly two decades, Sarah Ruiz’s ex-husband has controlled her. But no more! With Alex finally behind bars, Sarah is ready to put her dreams first. However, her safety and security are short-lived and she finds herself twisted in a web of lies even more complex than she could have guessed. To find the truth and protect her children, Sarah must step into a world where the game played is one of life and death. It’s no longer about control, it’s about survival. From the author of The Controlled, Game On! continues the story of Sarah Ruiz, a fitness model and mother of five whose battles with her manipulative ex-husband will leave you turning the pages to find out who wins the game.

Your thoughts

GAME ON is the long awaited sequel to THE CONTROLLED. It continues on where THE CONTROLLED left off. Sarah was sitting wondering if Christian would soon show up or if she would finish off her vacation alone. She truly did miss Christian and knew her ex-husband had caused the breakup. With Alex in prison, things should turn around and she will be able to resume her life; free from Alex and his controlling ways.

However, to Sarah’s surprise when she return, who was awaiting for her at the airport? Shocked and afraid all Sarah could do was follow Alex’s instructions. She had no clue what was going on or how he managed to get out of prison. Sarah new she had the separation papers and the restraining order and would use that to her advantage. The only problem…somehow they went missing. How was Sarah ever going to gain control of her own life?

Once again, Ms. Komant has blown me out of the water. I actually had to put this book down or would have stayed up all night to finish it off. There are definitely twists in there that I did not see coming. The best part was that it was not predictable like most novels. I actually thought at one point there might be some plastic surgery/disguise! The character development was very well put together and the storyline flowed very smoothly for being 32 chapters long. There are not too many authors out there that have such a profound effect on me. I was lost in the book. It felt like I was there living with Sarah and going through everything with her. It is best to read both books, however you could read each on their own, but it might be a bit confusing.  It is my hope that this is not the last book from Becky as she is a fantastic writer one that I would follow. Definitely a must read.

Rating: 4.5

Heat Rating: Mild

Reviewed by: KellyR

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

 

HIGHLAND FLAME by Mary Wine

Highland Flame (Highland Weddings, #4)Highland Flame by Mary Wine

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Highland Weddings, #4

Source: I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

 

  • Publication date: September 5, 2017
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MYDPYA9
  • Length: 322 pages

 

Product Description (Amazon)

NEWLY MINTED LAIRD SEEKS WIFE, PREFERABLY RICH

Laird Diocail Gordon has just inherited his uncle’s run down castle and rag-tag clan. He knows the sorry sight of the castle would send any woman running, but is determined to find a wife to help return his home to its former glory.

Widowed lady Jane Stanley is determined to return to England, even if she has to tromp through the Scottish Highlands on foot to get there. Her travels lead her straight into the midst of a troop of dangerous Highland warriors. The mysterious, brawny laird forbids his men to harm her, and the spark between them is immediate. The only way Diocail can keep her safe is to take her home with him, but will the miserable state of his clan douse her newly ignited Highland flame?

Highland Weddings Series:
Highland Spitfire (Book 1)
Highland Vixen (Book 2)
Highland Hellion (Book 3)
Highland Flame (Book 4)

 

Now available for pre order in both print and digital! 

 

 

My thoughts: 

Highland Flame by Mary Wine is another fabulous Highland Romance. #4 in her exciting “Highland Weddings” series, but it can be read as a stand alone.

Laird Diocail Gordon just inherited uncle’s run down castle and the rag-tag Gordon clan. He is anot impressive warrior but, can he prove himself capable of being a good laird, not just a good warrior, and will he be able help his clan prosper and re-build. Lady Jane Stanley, a widow, who is determined to return to England, at all cost, including tromping, on foot, in the cold, wild Scottish Highlands. Nearly , frozen and hungry, she comes into the midst of a troop of dangerous Highland warriors. And thus this captivating tale begins…..well there is more to it than that, but I don’t wish to give anything away….

Well written Scottish Romance with captivating, interesting and entertaining characters. The plot flows seamlessly and is well excuted. I loved “Highland Flame”! Put the feisty, determined,red-haired, beauty, Jane with the myterious, no non-sense, handsome, Diocail and sparks fly off the pages.

Ms. Wine definitely brings forth a story rich in history, Highland traditions, and one that captives as well as, keeps you glued to the pages of a fast paced tale of love, passion, treachery and determination. Mesmerizing! ! Another well done, Highland Romance by Mary Wine. Never a dull moment for sure!
I received a complimentary copy, however, all opinions are my own.

Highland Weddings Series:

Highland Spitfire (Book 1)
Highland Vixen (Book 2)
Highland Hellion (Book 3)
Highland Flame (Book 4)

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

HIGHLAND HOGMANAY by Em Taylor

Highland HogmanayHighland Hogmanay by Em Taylor

 

Genre: Comtemporary Romance

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: July 24, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07483Q246
  • Length: 75 pages

 

Description (Amazon)

The week between Christmas and New Year is always dreary and for single mum of two small children, Isla, it’s doubly so. A toddler throwing a tantrum and an over-inquisitive four year old are stressing her out. The broken carrier bag spilling her shopping out in the wet street is the final straw. But handsome Mark Ferguson turns up out of the blue to help her.

The New Year may be looking up, until she finds out that Mark owns one of the biggest computing firms in the USA. Can they make a long distance relationship work and can Mark stop trying to make their relationship into a business venture?

This book contains scenes that are not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.

 

 

 

Pick up your copy today for 99 cents!

 

 

My thoughts:

Highland Hogmanay by Em Taylor is a sexy, Contemporary Romance set on the small island of Kilrigh, Scotland. #3 in the “Kilrigh Heat” series, while, it can be read as a stand alone, I’d recommend reading “Highland Fling” and “Highland Haven”.
Isla, is a single mom with two small children, a four year old and a toddler, temper tantrums and over-inquisitiveness, makes her world turn, sometimes anyway, some of us totally understood.
Mark Ferguson, to the rescue or is he. When Isla learns Mark is the owner of one of the biggest computing firms in the USA, can she make their budding relationship work for them or will she give up on her new found romance?
I think, “Highland Hogmanay”, is my favorite of this series. I love little children in a story, they make things interesting. Hogmanay in Scotland, is the week between Christmas and New Year.
Another well written, quick read by Em Taylor, with entertaining and interesting characters. A fun, sexy, Highland adventure with a fantasy or two throw into the mix. A definite romantic adventure! Beautifully written and well excuted. Another great read by Em Taylor.

From the author: **This book contains scenes that are not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.**

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild with some heat involved
Reviewed by: AprilR

HIGHLAND HAVEN by Em Taylor

Highland HavenHighland Haven by Em Taylor

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Series: Kilrigh Heat, #2

Source: Personal buy

 

  • Publication date: March 8, 2017
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XHKZ619
  • Length: 125 pages

 

Description: From Amazon 

When Erin Murray decides to escape her past in Glasgow, she picks the small island of Kilrigh as her haven. Arriving at her new home, she’s alone and scared, but is welcomed by the overly cheerful laird’s son. But the tall, dark and sexy Finlay must earn her trust–something she’s not willing to give easily.

Erin begins to let the walls of her heart come down, only for her past to darken Kilrigh. Can Finlay keep her world from falling apart and can their budding relationship survive this threat?

 

 

Pick up your copy today for on 99 cents @Amazon!!

 

 

My thoughts:

Highland Haven (Kilrigh Heat Series Book 2) by Em Taylor is a delightful Romance. The “Kilrigh Heat” series continues with “Highland Haven”. See, “Highland Fling”. Set on a small island in Scotland, Kilrigh.

Erin Murray, is trying to escape her past in Glasgow, so she settles on the small island of Kilrigh. She’s alone and scared, but is soon welcomed by the laird’s son, Finlay. Finlay just happens to be tall, dark, sexy and cheerful. Their chemistry is flies off the pages, the reader can almost feel the sparks, coming off the pages, between Finlay and Erin. Erin is not easy to trust, especially after her abusive ex-boyfriend.

Well written with engaging characters. The plot is a sweet love story, with some trust issues, the past returning unexpectedly, a bit of danger, lots of sparks, and a few twists and turns. A lovely story of learning to trust and finding love amongst the darkness of your past. Beautifully written and excuted.

I have enjoyed this series by Em Taylor and look forward to reading more from her. She draws the reader into the story and captures their heart. A quick read, to me, anyway. I read it in one afternoon. A delightful love story you don’t wish to miss from the fabulous Em Taylor.

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating:Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑