Reviews of Great and Not so Great Books.


When Highland Lightning Strikes (A Highland Talents Novella)When Highland Lightning Strikes by Willa Blair

Genre: Historical Romance(Medieval/Scottish)

Series: A Highland Talents Novella

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher

  • Print Length: 97 pages
  • Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc (October 21, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 21, 2015
  • Language: English

(From Amazon)

A Man who would be Laird 

Angus MacAnalen fully expects to succeed his dead brother as Laird. But on the day of the Clan Council’s vote, a new lass steals his breath and his heart, making him question the ambition that drives him. When he begins to suspect she has a hidden talent that could help his clan, he must overcome the painful disappointment of the past before it costs him the future he desires. 

A Lass in Exile 

Because of her strange ability, Shona’s village banished her to live with a distant uncle after her parents died. When she catches the eye of the prospective laird of her new home, she fears the clan’s scrutiny may cause her to be expelled again, or worse. But Angus seems determined to win her heart, and Shona can’t help wanting to give it to him, despite the risks. 

A Love Lifted out of the Ruins 

Broken promises and broken dreams litter their pasts, and their present. Can they build a future from the ruins?


“A Highland Talents” Novella, but can be read as a stand alone. A quick, fast paced tale with a bit of Paranormal, a bit of danger, passion, romance and love. Once again, Ms Blair has written a tale that will have readers turning pages. I enjoyed this H/H in this tale. How they find their HEA. They where enjoyable, endearing and engaging. The storyline was interesting. Ms. Blair is a consummate storyteller, one who gives readers insight into Scottish legends, magic, and the love of their clan. Rather Highlander or Lowlander, her characters are always charismatic, energetic and endearing. Another must read Medieval Scottish Historical Romance by Ms. Will a Blair. Can’t wait for more from this magical author.

*Received for an honest review from the publisher*

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More



Author: Sandra Block


Paperback: 368 pages

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publication date: Sept. 8 2015

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1455583774

ISBN-13: 978-1455583775

Genre: Psychological Suspense

Received for an honest review from publisher

Description (from

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe’s treatment is the last hope to discover the girl’s identity.

When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe’s family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers.

The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding…and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

My Thoughts

THE GIRL WITHOUT A NAME is a great psychological suspense. This is the first novel by Sandra Block that I have read and am very impressed with the writing. Although this seems to be a continuation from LITTLE BLACK LIES it does well as a stand alone novel. Zoe is a resident who is on probation and Jane Doe has been assigned to her. Zoe is struggling to find out what has caused the catatonia in her patient and eventually needs to find Jane Doe’s family.

The first chapter had me hooked and I did like Zoe as a character. I think I benefited from the fact that I didn’t read LITTLE BLACK LIES so both characters were new to me. There seems to be a few unexpected twists which kept me intrigue  and I couldn’t figure things out quickly which in my opinion, makes for a great suspense novel. Readers will definitely be surprised at the end.  Given that Ms. Block is a neurologist herself, the medical information written about in the book is accurate. Overall, for readers of psychological suspense/thrillers, this should be on your reading lists.

Reviewed by: KellyR

Rating: 4

Courtesy of My Book Addition and More


OF LOVE & BETRAYAL by Louise Lyndon…a review

Of Love and BetrayalOf Love and Betrayal by Louise Lyndon

Genre: Medieval Historical Romance

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher

  • Paperback: 302 pages
  • Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc. (Tea Rose) (October 1, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1509203508
  • ISBN-13: 978-1509203505

(From Amazon)

Aveline de Bondeville is on the run. Determined to keep out of the hands of the cruel Raimbaut de Blois she will do whatever it takes to stay alive. And so when she finds herself in the company of Troy de Gysborne she must quickly decide if she can trust him. But can she confess to murder knowing it would mean her certain death? Troy de Gysborne did the unthinkable; he tore the bonds of brotherhood and left a path of destruction in his wake. And now Troy must face those he betrayed, including the father who long ago renounced him. But to confess to the crime he committed will cost him everything. Including Aveline. But can he remain silent if it means losing the woman he loves?


Fast paced, heart pumping tale of dark emotions, a bit of humor, lots of danger, betrayal, and love. An absolute action packed story from the first to the last. The characters are engaging and interesting. A well written story with an exciting, intriguing and emotionally charged story. Fans of Historical Romance, dangerous situations, romance, forgiveness, healing and finding a HEA, will enjoy “Of Love & Betrayal”. I am thrilled to find a new Medieval historical romance author. I look forward to reading more of her spellbinding stories. A must read!

*Received for an honest review from the publisher*

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

BRANDED by Katie Hamstead…a review

BrandedBranded by Katie  Hampstead

Genre: New Adult Romance/ Suspense

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Paperback: 302 pages
  • Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing (July 1, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1619358689
  • ISBN-13: 978-1619358683

(From Amazon)

Terrorists have invaded Sydney, and Allison King barely escapes her brother’s wedding reception alive. She and her siblings flee, but their parents are killed by firing squad. Now Ali’s on the run and terrified. While searching for other survivors, she is captured by the General who leads the invasion. He’s smitten by Ali, and when she refuses to submit to his whims, he brands her for death. In a wild act of defiance, she snatches the branding rod and sears the mark onto his face. Marking not only him but also sealing her fate. Ali manages to escape and flees into the bush once more where she finds a group in hiding. Even with the scars left by the General, Ali learns to love and falls in love with the young man who found her-Damien Rogers. But the General is hunting her. When he discovers their location, and finds her with another man-Damien-his wrath is kindled and his obsession is inflamed. Ali must put herself on the line or the General could kill her family, those who help her, and most significantly, the man she loves.


A suspenseful, powerful romance set against the backdrop of Sydney, Australia during a terrorist attack. Adventurous, compelling, exciting with very dangerous situations and consequences.
Fast paced, addictive, and powerful. What if?? Terrorist attacked, and either killed out right or branded Christians with a crucifix, marking them for death. What would you do? Ally fought back, bravely, courageous and honorably.
Written in first person, which I normally do not enjoy, but this story will capture the reader’s attention from the beginning to the last page. Well written, unique, with engaging, endearing and courageous characters. The storyline was intriguing and interesting. An enjoyable and satisfying read. Fans of Suspense, with a bit of romance, love of country, faith, redemption, with a powerful message, should enjoy “Branded”. A great read!

*Received for an honest review of the publisher via Net Gallery*

Rating: 4
Heat rating: mild ( due to violent situations)
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

View all my reviews

TALL, DARK AND WICKED by Madeline Hunter… a review **Coming OCTOBER 6, 3016**

Tall, Dark and Wicked (Wicked Trilogy, #2)


Tall, Dark and Wicked by Madeline Hunter

Genre: Historical Romance (Regency)

Series: Wicked Trilogy #2

Source: Received for an honest review of the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Series: Wicked Trilogy (Book 2)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Jove (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0515155179
  • ISBN-13: 978-0515155174

(From Amazon)

A wickedly wonderful new romance from the New York Timesbestselling author of His Wicked Reputation
Most women will give him anything he wants. She is not most women… 

As a well-known barrister and the son of a duke, Ives confines his passionate impulses to discreet affairs with worldly mistresses. A twist of fate, however, has him looking for a new lover right when a fascinating woman shows up in his chambers, asking him to help save her father from the gallows. Unfortunately, he has already been asked to serve as the prosecutor in the case, but that only ensures close encounters with the rarity named Padua Belvoir. And every encounter increases his desire to tutor her in pleasure’s wicked ways…

Having always been too tall, too willful, and too smart to appeal to men, Padua Belvoir is shocked when Ives shows interest in her. Knowing his penchant for helping the wrongly accused, she had initially thought he might be her father’s best hope for salvation. Instead, he is her worst adversary—not least because every time he looks at her, she is tempted to give him anything he wants…

Barnes and Noble:…
Google Play Books:…



 #2 in the “Wicked Trilogy”, but can be read as a stand alone. I would also recommend reading Book 1, “His Wicked Reputation”. Once again, Ms. Hunter has written a seductive, intriguing tale with passion, romance,a bit of danger, some mystery, a bit of suspense and lots of love. Well written tale with engaging, passionate, and lovable characters. I enjoyed the interaction between the H/H, how the family sticks together no matter the circumstances or the conquestances.
Fast paced tale with plenty of action, adventure, romance and passion. Wickedly seductive! Once again, Ms. Hunter will mesmerize her fans with “Tall, Dark and Wicked”. Highly recommended. Fans of Regency Historical Romance, suspense, mystery and finding a HEA will enjoy this tale. I certainly did and I look forward to the next installment. Another awesome read!

*Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery*

*Cross-posted on My Book Addiction Reviews dot com*

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More


I SPY A DUKE by Erica Monroe…a review **COMING OCTOBER 5, 2015**


I Spy a Duke by Erica Monroe

Genre: Historical Romance/Suspense

Series: Convert Heiresses #1

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Quillfire Publishing (October 5, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 5, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0113CZUTE

(From Amazon)

She wants revenge… 
When bluestocking Vivian Loren becomes the governess for the wealthy Spencer family, she’s hunting for clues about the murder of her brother, not romance. But Vivian didn’t count on one thing: James Spencer, the infuriatingly handsome Duke of Abermont. 

He needs a wife… 
As head of Britain’s elite intelligence agency, James has no time to find and woo a wife. After discovering Vivian’s quest for answers has made her a pawn in a treacherous plot of one of Napoleon’s most deadly spies, James realizes they can help each other. She’ll become his duchess, and he’ll keep her safe. 

What begins as a marriage of convenience quickly becomes anything but as secrets surface. Love may be the most dangerous mission of all.


(From Amazon)

Covert Heiresses is the adventurous new historical romantic suspense series from USA Today Bestselling Author Erica Monroe, featuring four scandalous women who are England’s top spies. 

In order:
I Spy a Duke – October 2015
A Spy Never Surrenders – Spring 2016
For Your Spy Only – Fall 2016
Spies Are Forever – Spring 2017


#1 in the “Covert Heiresses” series and what a beginning. Simply WOW! Intriguing, passionate, and simply mesmerizing! Well written with engaging, and wickedly delightful characters. True, some was devious and evil, but nonetheless entertaining. Filled with intrigue, danger, spies, loss,grief, secrets, passion, engaging characters, to say the least and of course romance, passion and finally finding love amongst grief and angst.
I was not disappointed in any any way in Ms. Monroe’s story,once again, she has written a story with such passion as to keep the reader mesmerized. I truly look forward to the next dangerous installment. Feisty, dangerous and courageous females makes this a not to miss series. Fans of Historical Romance, spies, feisty females, heroic males,dangerous situations and a wickedly seductive tale will enjoy “I Spy a Duke”. A most dangerous tale. Highly recommended!!

*Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery and a personal buy*

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Hot
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

CAPTAIN’S CAPTIVE by Leslie Hachtel…a review

Captain's CaptiveCaptain’s Captive by Leslie Hachtel


Genre: Historical Romance/Suspense

Source: Received for an honest review the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Paperback: 280 pages
  • Publisher: Black Opal Books (September 9, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1626943311
  • ISBN-13: 978-1626943315

(From Amazon)

What if the man who made love to you last night does not recognize you in the morning? True, you had been in disguise, but still…and what if this happened when you were fleeing for your life? Marilee Booth masquerades as an old woman and hires on as a cook aboard a ship headed to the colonies. She seeks to evade her stepmother, who has attempted to kill her. She is smitten by the handsome captain, who sees her merely as a part of the crew. On the last night at sea, when she doffs her disguise and decides to say goodbye to him while he sleeps, her life is forever altered. And now she may not survive…


Ms. Hachtel is a new author to me, and I thoroughly enjoyed her story. A fast paced Historical romance/Suspense set in America and England, both on and and on sea. A unique story in many ways with a few twists and turns. Well written with engaging and entertaining characters, danger, suspense, mystery, passion, secrets, and falling in love amidst danger and secrets.
An intriguing and interesting story. The main characters, as well as, the secondary characters will capture the reader’s hearts and their interest. I enjoyed “Captain’s Captive”, although, the title doesn’t go with the story, I don’t think. Still, it’s an exciting, thrilling and mysterious tale. Fans of mystery, suspense, passion, intrigue,romance and finding love, should really pick this tale, you won’t regret your choice. Engaging, entertaining, and interesting. An enjoyable and satisfying read. I look forward to Ms. Hachtel’s next grand adventure.

*Received for an honest review of the publisher via Net Gallery*

Rating: 4
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

HIGHLAND FLAMES: A SCOLLS OF CRIDHE COLLECTION by Ceci Giltenan, Tarah Scott, Sue-Ellen Welfonder, Lily Baldwin, Victoria Zak, Kate Robbins and Kathryn Lynn Davis…a review

Highland Flames: A Scrolls of Cridhe CollectionHighland Flames: A Scrolls of Cridhe Collection by Ceci Giltenan

by Ceci Giltenan  (Author), Tarah Scott  (Author), Lily Baldwin (Author), Kate Robbins  (Author),Sue-Ellen Welfonder  (Author),Kathryn Lynn Davis  (Author),Victoria Zak  (Author)

Genre: Historical Romance

Series:  A Scolls of Cridhe Collection #2

Source: Personal buy

  • Print Length: 923 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Cridhe Works LLC (September 21, 2015)
  • Publication Date: September 21, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B012C7K33M

(From Amazon)

Spirited women, braw Highlanders and burning desires 

Seven new, stand-alone historical Highland romances, woven by the Guardians of Cridhe which bear this truth: “Even from the ashes of betrayal and sorrow, with faith, love and a little magic, wondrous things can emerge.” 

The Pocket Watch by Ceci Giltenan 
Maggie Mitchell believes her broken heart will never mend, then she meets a mysterious elderly woman with an extraordinary pocket watch. Transported to the past, will the man Maggie meets there take away her pain, or put her heart in more danger than before? 

Lord Ruthven’s Bride by Tarah Scott 
Lady Annabelle is torn between two men. The man she is betrothed to and the man who saved her life. 

Jack: A Scottish Outlaw by Lily Baldwin 
Jack MacFie is a thief—with a code. Even though Lady Isabella Redesdale is a hated English noble, when her carriage is attacked by another band of villains, his conscience forces him to kidnap the lady to save her life. 

More alike than they first realize, Jack and Isabella both crave freedom from war and despair, but in a world where kings reign and birth dictates one’s station, freedom is not won, it is stolen. 

One Knight Standing by Kate Robbins 
Thrust together by desire and ancient secrets, William Gillies and Catherine St. Clair embark on a journey of discovery wrought with passion, intrigue, and adventure, revealing their true destiny. 

Winter Fire by Sue-Ellen Welfonder 
When Katla MacKenzie meets a dashing stranger in an enchanted place, she gladly gives her heart – and her passion – to the lover she only knows as the Lord of Winter. 

Gunnar MacLeod can’t resist the bonnie lass and seduces her—or is he the one seduced? A long-standing clan feud comes between them, but a heart that loves is powerful, and Gunnar will do whatever he must to claim Katla as his own. 

Highland Awakening by Kathryn Lynn Davis 
Esmé Rose is content in Glen Affric, that is until a dream sends her on a perilous journey where she comes to know her own fears and strengths, and the transforming power of magic—even for a man who doesn’t believe. 

Highland Destiny by Victoria Zak 

Rory Cameron, an alluring Dragonkine Highlander, believes he has found his mate in Kenna Mackenzie. Kenna, running in fear from her betrothed, finds a secluded refuge in a glen far away from men—that is until a dragon swoops into her life. Feeling the burn of the seductive flames, will Kenna embrace the fire between them—or will she flee again? 


WOW!! Another outstanding collection from some marvelous storytellers! These ladies just keep making Historical Romance more and more wickedly seductive. Outstanding!! A must read. Each title was enjoyable and satisfying. Loved the writing, the characters and the storyline. Well, I simply loved each and every story!! Well done! More please. I would highly recommend this collection.

*Personal buy*

Rating: 5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR

THE SOLDIER’S REBEL LOVER by Marguerite Kaye…a review

The Soldier's Rebel Lover (Comrades in Arms, #2)The Soldier’s Rebel Lover by Marguerite Kaye



Genre: Historical Romance (Spain/England)

Series: Comardes in Arms #2

Source: Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery

  • Series: Comrades in Arms (Book 1253)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Harlequin (September 15, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0373298536
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373298532

(From Amazon)

A hero…a rebel…a desire worth fighting for!  

When Major Finlay Urquhart was last on the battlefield, he shared a sizzling moment with daring Isabella Romero. Two years later, Finlay has one final duty to perform for his country—one that reunites him with this rebellious señorita!  

Except Isabella has her own mission, which means that no matter how much she craves Finlay’s touch, she can never tell him the truth. But she’s underestimated Finlay’s determination to protect her, and soon she finds herself letting her guard down, one scorching kiss at a time!


“The Soldier’s Rebel Lover” is the final installment in the series “Comrades in Arms”, but can be read as a stand alone. I absolutely adored this series! Although, I must say I adore ALL of Ms. Kaye’s stories. She is an amazing storyteller who transports the reader to another era with her strong, feisty heroines, her alpha heroes, and her alluring, compelling and compassionate stories.

Another intense, intriguing, compelling and passionate tale of romance and love with some twists and turns along the way. The H/H will capture your heart and keep you on edge as you are ensconced into a story where a country is in turmoil, powerful secrets, a desperate rescue attempt, treason, sacrifice, a possible treasonous act by the hero and finding true love. Ms. Kaye’s never disappoints her readers with her powerful, compassionate, sensuous and compelling stories. A must read! I would highly recommend “The Soldier’s Rebel Lover” to fans of Historical Romance, war, sacrifice, romance and anyone who enjoys a wickedly, seductive tale.

I very much enjoyed this story, however, I was left with a question or two about the heroine’s brother/family, how they escape the aftermath of the heroine and would love to see an epilogue or a bit more on our H/H new circumstances, what happened? Etc. I would love to see the rest of the story….I see a new series in the future, maybe? An awesome read!! Don’t miss out on this fabulous story!!

*Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery*

**Cross-posted on My Book Addiction Reviews dot com**

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Mild
Reviewed by: AprilR,courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

HIGHLANDER’S KISS by Joanne Wadsworth…a review

Highlander's Kiss (Clan Matheson, #1)Highlander’s Kiss by Joanne Wadsworth

Visit Joanne Wadsworth at

Genre: Historical Romance/Time Travel/Faes/Magic/Medeival/Romance

Series: Clan Matheson #1

Source: Received for an honest review from the author

  • Series: Clan Matheson
  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (September 15, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1517332788
  • ISBN-13: 978-1517332785

(From Amazon)

There can be only one…for both of them. 

Fae-blooded Julia holds the ability to read another’s aura and determine their true intent. Her skill has only ever aided her in life, until the day when their neighboring enemy clan arrive to discuss a marriage of alliance between her and their chief’s son. She misjudges their enemy’s intent and all goes horribly wrong. Her parents are captured and imprisoned and now she must find a way to free them. Only now standing in her path is a fiercely protective warrior who has traveled from the future into the past, a man who insists they are soul bound, and a man whose aura shows no sign of such a bond. She is wary, yet still, she can’t deny how much he stirs her deep within. 

Highland warrior shifter Tavish Matheson has traveled through time to find the woman his soul demands is his, yet convincing her will be a mission all unto itself. When Julia is kidnapped by the enemy while on a mission to save her parents, he sets out in fierce pursuit. All he desires is to keep her close, rescue her parents, and most of all, to offer her his love. 

He’s a warrior who will not be denied. She’s a lass devoted to her kin. 

Highlander’s Kiss, #1 
Highlander’s Heart, #2 
Highlander’s Sword, #3


Series by Joanne Wadsworth

Highlander Heat
  • Highlander’s Captive, #0.5 (Short Story 11,000 words)
  • Highlander’s Castle, #1
  • Highlander’s Magic, #2
  • Highlander’s Charm, #3
  • Highlander’s Guardian, #4
  • Highlander’s Faerie, #5
  • Highlander’s Champion, #6
The Matheson Brothers (Highlander Romance)

  • Highlander’s Desire, #1
  • Highlander’s Passion, #2
  • Highlander’s Seduction, #3
Clan Matheson (Highlander Romance)

  • Highlander’s Kiss, #1
  • Highlander’s Heart, #2
  • Highlander’s Sword, #3


  • Witness Pursuit, #1
  • Bodyguard Pursuit, #2
Magio-Earth (Princes and Swords – NA Romance)
  • Protector, #1
  • Warrior, #2
  • Hunter, #2.5 (Short Story of 12,000 words)
  • Enchanter, #3
Want more of Joanne Wadsworth?


Highlander’s Kiss (Clan Matheson Book 1). Simply WOW! Highlander, shifters, time travelers, clans, danger, Faes, passion and romance, what more could a time travel/Medieval/Romance fan want?
Fast paced, adventure filled tale of magic, struggles, strength above. Powerful! Ms. Wandsworth is an amazing storyteller. Simply love her powerful stories. Well written, with powerful world building of the past and future. An enjoyable and satisfying read! Alluring and powerful!

*Received for an honest review from the author*

Rating: 4.5
Heat rating: Hot
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

Create a free website or blog at | The Baskerville Theme.

Up ↑


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,785 other followers